fedora blues........

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys .... i have installed Fedora on my system ... which i got fon the Digit July Dvd, first of all ..it takes a lot of time while booting and i think my config is not that bad.....and it checks email programs (sendmail type) at startup.. and when my net is off .it takes around 3-4 minutes waiting to check the connection BEFORE THE LOGIN SCREEN .... how to disable this ?? and also when the login screen appears ... the mouse cursur goes on a walk ..the mouse works perfectly well as i can access all the menus by using the mouse (they get highlighted when i move my mouse randomly coz the cursur is not visible) ... wat can be the problem and the possible solution for it . I am new in linux arena so dnt knw anything bout it ...hope i have explained the problem well enuff. plz help ...............

My config :
AMD 3600+ with Asus M2NPV-VM (nvidia 6150)
512 x 2 kingston 667 in dual channel
hitachi 160 gb 3.0gbps
lite on 20x
Intex Optical Mouse.....

and also i cant change the screen resolution more that 800 x 600 and refresh rate more than 60 hertz. the drivers provided on digit dvd (nvidia force ware for linux) are not running ... how to run them???

nileshgr

Wise Old Owl
To disable some startup services, use system-config-services app to do it. It can be found under System=>Administration. See the description and then disable the service. If you disable network services, then your BB will not activated as you start ur pc, i mean if u want to use the net after booting, then u wud have to activate it manually.

OP
harryneopotter

harryneopotter

Padawan
sorry for posting in wrong section ... i am new here ... thnx for the replies ... but the main problem is still ther ........ how can i make the mouse pointer visible while running fedora ...its not visible and i have tried to change mouse pointer in Mouse properties option ..but no use ........... plz help ...........

nileshgr

Wise Old Owl