Ext hdd 1tb advise

ani619

Broken In
i'm an engineering student, computer science branch.
i need a 1TB Ext HDD for backing up my importatn documents and movies too.
budget is max 6k(online shopping works too), the EHDD should be USB3.0.

i have considered the following, but cant decide on one.

WD MY Passport

Seagate Expansion USB

but my most preferred choice is:

Seagate Backup Plus

i am not choosing no.2,

tell me which one 1st, WD PASSPORT OR 3. SEAGATE BACKUP+

arijitsinha

﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿ O'RLY?
Its too much. Now for what had they increased the price? Luckily I bought it when the price were down. Even at the time of diwali the price of Seagate backup plus was around 4.9K.

arijitsinha

﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿ O'RLY?
@OP:- You can wait for sometime, there might be price drop. or check local market, if they have old stock.

gameranand

Living to Play
Yeah WAIT.....Good thing I bought 2TB internal HDD when prices were down, now they have increased indeed. :|

pratik385

In the zone
damn whenever i want to get a Hard drive, the other day they've increased its prices by a good margin...but why now?

Suggest me a 2TB USB 3.0 external Hard drive, i ve a 3-4 year old seagate free agent 500gb which is full and my internal 750gb hdd too and both running really well...
Manufacturer : Seagate / WD
Size: matters, is it available in 2.5inch one?
Extra: also there are few models which requires no external power for 2TB so any new models coming from Seagate/WD in 2013
Note: I can wait few months...

Last edited:

arjoonpk

Broken In
heyy I too am in lookout for an external HDD -1tb portable...

1)WD My Passport USB 3.0 1 TB External Hard Disk and
2)Seagate Backup Plus

are my shortlisted items....
i dont care about the looks... (both of them look pretty much the same to me.....)
i'm more inclined towards areas like performance and size
i guess WD MY passport has the edge when it comes to size and the ease of carrying around..