ever heard of XTREME or EXTREME brand of ram.

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by tango_cash, Jul 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tango_cash

    tango_cash New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi i want to buy 1gb ram.my vendor has offered me xtreme or extreme brand's ram for 4400.is it good brand .ne 1 heard or used it.what isthe price of other brand's for 1gb ram.
     
  2. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never heard of it.

    Price of 1GB should vary from sub 4k(very lucky) to 5k+

    you can get transcend around 4500, which mobo ?
     
  3. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just get kingston or transcend.
    If u really want real extreme fast modules,check out Corsair.
     
  4. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't get kingston.

    I am not sure whether corsair value select DDR1 modules will oc at all.
    If they do, then get them. prices should be around the same at most few hundred more.

    or get transcend (UCCC chips, if not available then hynix d43 chips)
     
  5. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    knigston is the best,buddy,why dont u like it,man?
     
  6. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well....for normal use get Transcend or TwinMos or Kingston........

    For high performance get Corsair or OCZ.....

    Corsair Value Select can run at 450 MHz......stable....
    And also at a speed of 400 MHz it can run with a CAS latecy if 2CL..even though rated 2.5CL
     
  7. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think Kingston is best suited for him....thats it....get Kingston...end of it.
     
  8. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it all depends upon the chips. during my time corsair value select didn't oc much if at all.
    also, 400 to 450 is not a big jump. All value ram will mostly give the same performance, small differences, better brand might be more stable etc.

    Don't get kingston, you have no reason to.

    If you want to oc:
    get transcend (UCCC chips)

    If you don't want to oc:
    get corsair value select provided mobo supports the ram modules in both cases

    kingston:
    give a logical reason to go for it, there is no reason to go for it.
     
  9. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whatever,kingston is the best.
     
  10. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also... u can overclok Transcend mudules...if u have good heat spreaders... to 450-468 MHz.....

    @akshay:Which mudules are u using?
     
  11. satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    my suggestion is Kingston or Transcend.............
     
  12. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kingston is not the best. You have no evidence, please keep quiet.

    OC depends on chips.
    Hynix D43 might not oc at all(may be) or may even reach 270 from 200.
    UCCC may be able to do 250 or higher(maybe)

    Do you want to oc, pelase tell?
     
  13. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what the hell,do u want evidence now...omg.
    OK,i lose and u win.
     
  14. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    The problem was not with the RAM .. but the user (yes dodo .. U) .... now ur sti**ing around with ur RAM gyan too ??? 400 -> 450 not a good OC ??? Hmmmm .... what ru ??? are u an alien ???


    Also ... about the vendor that said about the Xtreme or Extreme mem. ,... he could be selling u off some cheap local ram .... there are loads of them out there ... though they're not bad .. they're not meant to be messed around with ... and are preferred to run at stock ... the big plus is the price ... quite less from even Zion ram's .... and if u want cheap mem. modules to mess around with , then definitely get Kingston ...
     
  15. rahul_becks23

    rahul_becks23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes,kingston is absolutely OK 4 everyone .
     
  16. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think he wants to run 400MHz modules at 500MHz.....:D
     
  17. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    transcend uccc will run 400 @ 500
    hynix d43 if lucky can goto 540 from 400 i think

    asus a8n e doesn't supprt each kingston chip

    local ram for 4400 is not worth it, even branded costs just as much maybe 100-300 type diff
     
  18. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey hows hynix.....i had seen 400mhz 1GB hynix ram for 3800/-
     
  19. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't recommend hynix.

    Hynix using D34 chips is ok but I would rather have Transcend using UCCC(first choice) or Hynix D43 chips.
     
  20. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yeah ... as if the distributors or the resellers understand the minute specs.

    Hynix chips are good .. like i said .. with mine at stock latencies ( 3,4,4,12 :( ) i can go upto 240 MHz i.e. ddr480 stable ... and with tweaked latencies ( 2,3,3,6 ) i get to around 215 MHz i.e. ddr430 ... though they lack heatsinks and i don't oc them coz i can't afford to fry them ...

    Now ... the catch is that oc'ing doesn't involve ram oc'ing necessarily ... so these modules do great till u keep them at stock ... thus having a oc'ed cpu and ram running at stock with lower latencies ... now i got 2 GB for around 9k's .. that makes them quite cheap ...

    Care to explain ?? My friend is using 2*1 GB kingston ddr4000 kingston modules for quite a few months now without any problem .... infact he has them running at 215 MHz all the time .... and that too with forced latencies of 3,2,3,8 ...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page