Engineering student - need general career guidance.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rgsilent

Broken In
I'm a second year engineering student in the field of IT from one of the better engineering colleges in Mumbai.

So far my first two semester performances have been abysmal (52.5 percent agg) due to subjects like mechanics and drawing which I had no inclination to study but i managed to clear the year without any failures.

Anyway getting to the point, I'd like to know what exactly can I do (apart from academic scores) to have something to show for on my resume in two years time.

I have absolutely nothing to show for at the moment on my resume as I'm pretty low on cocurricular activities. And I think those things matter and give quite a bit of weight to your cv either for placements or post graduation.

So anyway I'd like to know if there are some part time jobs I can do (preferable IT related) or some programming courses or such (like .NET as it's not part of our syllabus) which might give me an edge over others in getting through the campus placements or getting into a good university for post graduation (MS or MBA - undecided).

I'd like to do some part time work as it definitely more worth and I can earn a bit too.

Any help will be appreciated.

Regards,
rg

PS: I know about communication skills being important for interviews and stuff but I don't think that's much of a problem as I used get consistently high scores in english in school and junior college and topped my school in the 10th grade. :D

Liverpool_fan

Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend