DVD writer queries

Status
Not open for further replies.

h_kunte

Journeyman
Hello All...

I am a newbie when it comes to DVD writers. I bought a DVD writer a week ago & faced a few problems when I attempted to write DVDs.

I have quite a lot of movies which I downloaded & had stored on my PC. The movie formats are mostly (.avi) or (.mpeg). I want to backup all these movies onto DVDs so that I can free up some space on my crammed up hard drives. The method which I followed to burn the disks was that, I started Nero startsmart (I am using Nero 7.0 Premium) & clicked on "Make Data DVD" & proceded, using Nero Express to select 5-6 files (depending on the size) from the drive & then continued to burn. The problems which I faced were as I follows:

1. DVD burning failed after 99% completion. (I wasted 3 such DVDs :( worth Rs 75)
2. I tried to read the DVD from my DVD ROM (On my PC) & it took AGES to read. Although the movies can be played from the DVD ROM on my PC, the last movie file(in order of burning) has been corrupted.
3. The DVD fails to be recognised by my DVD player.

My queries are as follows:

1. Most importantly, AM I USING THE RIGHT METHOD TO BURN THE DVD FILES? I snooped around a bit in Nero & found options like "Burn DVD Video Files", "Recode DVD Video" & "Make DVD Video"....Am I supposed to use any of these methods?

2. Why did the DVD burning fail after 99% writing? I had taken care to keep the size of the selected files to below the maximum size of the disk.

I dont think there should be any problem with my hardware configuration. My configuration is as follows:

AMD Atlon 64 3000+
MSI RS 480 IL mobo
2*512 MB RAM
2*80 GB SATA HDD - Drives almost 75% full
Nero 7 premium
Sony DVD RW AW-G170A
Sony DVD ROM DDU1615

Can anyone please help me out with the problems which I mentioned? Looking for replies.

Thanks in advance.

Ech-Kay.

Ankit

Journeyman