Does Dual monitor decrease FPS in games ???

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by damngoodman999, Oct 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    I have single TFT 19" inch monitor & 17" CRT monitor i want to connect those to GTX 260 while gaming in a single TFT means the other monitor stays stand by , so then the FPS will decease :?:

    TFT resolution 144 X 900
    CRT resolution 1024 X 768
     
  2. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I can't say anything for sure, but you better try it out and check. You can be our in house expert on dual monitors. :)

    IMO, theoretically it should be like alt-Tab function in windows, so I don't think there woud be any performance drop in games unless you do something in the other monitor as in gfx intensive app. Best to try it out and see what happens. :)
     
  3. vamsi_krishna

    vamsi_krishna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh
    There will be performance drops if you are running GFX intensive apps in both the monitors. Rest is up with your CPU. If you are using 64 bit Operating system.. it will give better performance than 32 bit.
     
  4. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Probably not. Since the GPU has all ready done the processing, it would just copy it across to a second output port. I am sure the chip is smart enough to do this.
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    Probably not. Cause the processing has all ready been done. It will just be copied to another port. Am sure the chips are smart enough to do this.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  5. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    Im using 64bit OS only !

    Asigh - if i start the game the other monitor automatically turns off , again i quit the game the monitor power on . Only one monitor is used for gaming !

    My GPU temp with one monitor is 48Deg if i connect another monitor it goes 54deg , that means wat ??
     
  6. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    The other monitor consumes power IMO.
     
  7. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    How have you connected the monitors..also which games you tried..?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    one is with DVI another one with VGA (by using DVI to VGA connector) , all most all the games i tried .
     
  9. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Which ones...names..??
     
  10. MetalheadGautham

    MetalheadGautham AFK

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Simple logic. Each monitor has different resolution. You stress GPU more when resolution is higher so temps also go higher.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    ^^ nice MHG ,after long time good answer finally . wat abt the FPS drop in dual monitor while gaming ??
     
  12. MetalheadGautham

    MetalheadGautham AFK

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    FPS should theoritically be unaffected whether the 2nd monitor is connected or not. Why can't you just try that part yourself and confirm ?
     
  13. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Even I had mentioned...that. GPU does not get stressed via multi monitor. It is only the resolution and affects selected that stress the GPU.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    ya , now iam using single monitor so much for the dual one !
     
  15. maverick786us

    maverick786us Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, it won't, as the game simply won't render for the unactive monitor (some games, such as Supreme Commander, and World in Conflict, will render for the second screen), thus, to the game, the second monitor never existed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page