diffrence between GNOME and KDE

Status
Not open for further replies.

vandit

In the zone
I am new to linux( currently using suse ) can anyone explain me the diffrence between GNOME and KDE ?? :oops:

vignesh

Wise Old Owl
KDE-K desktop emviroment. is a bit heavy onresources.
Gnome is a bit light and its very userfriendly with no annoying warning messages like "are you sure" etc.But its left to u which you like...

tuxfan

Technomancer
www.kde.org
www.gnome.org

These sites will give detailed information about the pros of KDE and GNOME
KDE = K Desktop Environment
GNOME = GNU Network Object Model Environment.

As you can see, both are "environments" in a GNU/Linux installtion. They both defer on the looks of your Linux. Additionally, there are many more differences internally as well.

You can have a look here. There will be plenty more such articles if you search google :)
*linuxreviews.org/software/desktops/

OP
vandit

vandit

In the zone
there seems to be a cold war between GNOME AND KDE....linux programmers shouldn't be fighting.... :oops:

ujjwal

Padawan
KDE and Gnome are software which can run on Linux/X Windows and many other OS's. KDE or Gnome developers need not be linux developers :)

But yes, many people feel that KDE and Gnome and other desktop environments should unite to create a single desktop environment. I differ, I feel that each of these have their own strengths and weaknesses, and working on seperate goals keep them focussed. Of course, these software are also helping each other, if not by direct code sharing, then by sharing of ideas. In the end the user gets a wide choice. But what is important is that users respect each other's choice and don't flame others for prefering something else ;)

tuxfan

Technomancer
If there is a healthy competition, there is a motivation to innovate and increase features. I am glad that there are a few Desktop Environments existing who compete with each other ;) :D

//siddhartha//

Stabbing my shoe