DDR SDRAM, DDR and DDR2

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by mohanty1942, Sep 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mohanty1942

    mohanty1942 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nasik
    What is the difference between:
    (A)
    (i) SD RAM
    (ii) DDR SD RAM

    (B)
    (i) Dual Channel DDR
    (ii) Dual Channel DDR2

    (C)
    Does 'DDR' & 'Dual Channel DDR' mean the same ?
     
  2. whistler

    whistler New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Up, Above the world, So HIGH !!
    le'me search

    have to search for it...but for now i can tell u that
    1) Syncronised Data RAM is SLOWER than Double Data Rate RAM..
    2) u can differentiate by the no's of cut at the bottom 1 in ddr 2 in sd
    3) sd operates at 3.3 volts and ddr operates at 2.5 volts
     
  3. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    http://www.computermemoryupgrade.net/types-of-computer-memory-common-uses.html
    that should explain a lot
    ddr2 is a new type of technology and works on the 1.8V core instead of the 2.5V of DDR
    ddr2 supports high memory frequencies as it debuts at 533 mhz
    ddr max freq now is 400mhz
    dual channel mode for either is basically using 2 identical chips to combine their bandwidths and get double of it
    its not a type of ram but is a mode that ur mobo supports
    DDR is not same as dual channel DDR
    see the link for clearing all this out
    dual channel is not in there .. therefor i explained it in short here
    enjoy
     
  4. OP
    OP
    mohanty1942

    mohanty1942 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nasik
    My further doubt is to differentiate DDR & DDR SD RAM
     
  5. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    DDR is DDR SD ram , its one and the same..............
     
  6. walking-techie

    walking-techie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey nice link.. thx !!!!
     
  7. Nemesis

    Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    yup ddr and ddr sdram r the same. just different ways of sayin it...
    dual channel improves system performance and provides more bandwidth...
     
  8. OP
    OP
    mohanty1942

    mohanty1942 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nasik
    Differentiate between DDR & Dual Channel DDR

    Pls clearly differentiate between DDR & Dual Channel DDR
     
  9. neerajvohra

    neerajvohra Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :lol: nice links !!!!!good work !!!! :lol:
     
  10. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
  11. babumuchhala

    babumuchhala New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Searching..... Sorry unable to locate
    Re: Differentiate between DDR & Dual Channel DDR

    there is nothing like Dual Channel DDR available in the market. Its just 2 DDR RAMs installed on the MOBO to boost performance.
    Not all MOBOs supprt dual channel
     
  12. Nemesis

    Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    as raven said, dual channel is just a mode not a type of RAM chip...u can get 2 identical DDR RAM chips, DDR400 256MBx2 and install them in dual channel mode which ur motherboard has 2 support...u will have 512MB RAM in dual channel configuration....theoretically, it doubles the bandwidth although practically, the improvement is not double...but it is an improvement all the same
     
  13. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    i do believe i had provided sufficient infirmation for u mohanty
    why did u bump this thread after 4 months ?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    mohanty1942

    mohanty1942 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nasik
    Thank you all babumuchhala, Nemesis & theraven.

    All doubt is cleaed now.
     
  15. magnet

    magnet Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    now i have doubt........does amd compatible board supports ddr2(or only intel supports it)????.....and is ddr2 available in india........i heard ddr3 coming soon too
     
  16. geek_rohit

    geek_rohit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gurgaon
    As of now only Intel boards (9xx) support the DDR2 standard. Though the AMD chipsets supporting the DDR2 standard are in the pipeline.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page