Cpu-motherboard compatibility.

april

Broken In
i am a newbie. i don't really have the knowledge or experience needed to start a thread of hardware discussion. but when i bought my PC a few years ago, i bought a Intel core 2 duo 7300 2.66gh CPU and a gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L motherboard on shops suggestion. however, after i bought that someone told me that it would have been better if i bought a Intel motherboard, cause it has the best compatibility with Intel CPU.

i am sure many other people who like me don't know much, faced same kind of situations.

what i want to know is, is it true, or does the best compatibility only depend on chipset? i would like to know the factors on which a motherboard and a CPU's compatibility depend. i would also like to know the compatibility of motherboards per CPU. AMD and Intel both.

i am sure that this discussion will help many others like me. or at least it would help me, that's my main purpose!:mrgreen:

Last edited:

avinandan012

Cyborg Agent
intel releases a Chipset for particular processor(s) who whoever(be it ASUS,Gigabyte,Intel .. ) implements that chipset in the mobo, that mobo will be compatible to those CPUs.

d6bmg

BMG ftw!!
All motheboards made for Intel proccessors by different companies are based on Intel chipsets. So, as long as you are getting same socket processor and motherboard there won't b any problem regarding compatibility.
And Intel is not the best motherboard maker in the market. They make some good value for money low and mid end motherboard. But for top end motherboard Intel is very bad and should always be avoided.
Talking about the processor + motherboard combo you are using, they are good. So don't worry anything about it.

OP
april

april

Broken In
All motheboards made for Intel proccessors by different companies are based on Intel chipsets. So, as long as you are getting same socket processor and motherboard there won't b any problem regarding compatibility.