Confused about moving from Desktop to Laptop. Help needed!

swaroop.b

Broken In
Hi all!:)
I'm very new to thinkdigit Forum. But I've been following this forum for quite a long time and now I'm a great fan of you all!
Here's a some background (some jibber-jabber, embedded in SPOILER tag. You may skip this just in case you want only the questionnnaire part. But I'll be happy if you allow me to express! I'll try to be quick! :wink:)
Who I am: recently passed out BE E&TC guy, joining IT industry while maintaining the Embedded Electronics work.

History: I got introduced to computers at the age of 5. It was a HDD-less 80386 having DOS. Moving through 80386-with-Windows 3.11, Pentium I with Windows 95 and AMD Athlon with Windows XP, today I'm using Pentium Dual Core E5300, 1GB DDR2 with Windows 7 Ultimate. The current PC is two years old now.

What I have been doing and do with my desktop:
  1. Mostly coding in various environments, starting from TurboC, VB6 (Very light and legacy) to Eclipse, Visual Studio 2010, MPLAB IDE, AVR Studio (Newer and heavy IDEs) as well as simulations on Multisim (electronic circuit simulation) and Matlab (signal processing).
  2. Lot of experiments regarding Sound (Audacity, Audition, VirtualDJ), Images (Photoshop, GIMP) and occasionally Video (nothing more than Windows Movie Maker), occasional 3D modelling (Blender, SolidWorks).
  3. Working with "heavy" PowerPoint Presentations and heavy browsing (tend to multitask a lot)
  4. Watching movies and listening to music.
  5. Very rarely play games (such as NFS U2, CS 1.6 just for a break or "recreation with fellow geeks":mrgreen:)
Did I ever have a laptop: technically yes, a family-friend had lent me his extra Dell Inspiron 15r (1st gen i3, 3GB DDR3, 320GB SATA, 512MB ATI), but never really used it since my project required a Parallel Printer (LPT) Port for programming a CPLD, which of course, wasn't there in the laptop. So the PC ruled till now!