Career in linux..

Status
Not open for further replies.

kuldeepsidhu

Broken In
I am doing engineering in computer science in India. I am in final year. I like the open source world.I want to make my career in linux. plz tell me where to start...I want certification from REDHAT..

1) What is the imnportance of REDHAT CERTIFICATION??

2) What is the scope of linux in INDIA??

3) From where i can start improving my linux skills??

4) I have listened about that LINUX DRIVERS have more importance
than LINUX ADMINISTRATION. Tell me about the linux drivers and which is important from the job point of view??

5) Suggest me some ebooks/books for my self study..??

desiibond

Bond, Desi Bond!
1) very very important. must have for linux admins
2) Many companies are using linux servers. Client for which I work has hundreds of linux servers.
3) Start by taking RHCE course and certification and then get some training on hardware and storage
4) linux drivers is totally different area. in our place, we don't give a damn about these drivers as we use RHEL and concentrate on using h/w that is compatible with the OS instead of searching for drivers etc.
5) go to redhat.com/docs

Also, knowledge of Solaris too is a must if you want to enter sysadmin stream.

silicon_fusion

Journeyman
Currently I am learning RHCE & going to give RHCE exam on Jan 20.Rhce provides you detail knowledge of Linux & i think it is the 1st step for linux learner..

damngoodman999

damnbadman666
Go for Networks CCNA

I am RHCE holder since 2008 1 & half year before , no value for fresher & also still no much knowledge about desktop linux - only u ll learn servers

CCNA is worth u can gain more knowledge & u can do CCSA next both are basic level & more entries for fresher

A

ankitsagwekar

Go for Networks CCNA

I am RHCE holder since 2008 1 & half year before , no value for fresher & also still no much knowledge about desktop linux - only u ll learn servers