Can PC act as Server?

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by steelwin, May 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steelwin

    steelwin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Friends,

    can i have my PC as a server , I have PHP 5.1 and apache , and a v-bulletin dorum ,is it possible to have the forum installed in my computer

    if yes / on tell me more how to setup
     
  2. ilugd

    ilugd Beware of the innocent

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you are using windows, just download easyphp. It is a breeze to setup
     
  3. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    who about the other things(which internet connection)
     
  4. vandit

    vandit New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    If I had a webcam u could have seen me, before you
    try squid ..... it is a small server application. easy to download and use,,,,,, try to refer some of the older mag. of digit....in that u will get it installation and working..:cool:
     
  5. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Do you mean you have php and apache configured? Or do u just have them? And you'l need MySQL too. Tell me about it and ill help you..
     
  6. OP
    OP
    steelwin

    steelwin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just have all of them i dont know to configre them,

    and i have a windows xp based system !! please help me to do
     
  7. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    it will be a lot more easier on linux.....
     
  8. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Get XAMPP from here. That would be much easier then trying to explain the whole procedure to you manually!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page