Buying New PC - Urgent Advice Needed

avneet

Right off the assembly line
1. What is the purpose of the computer? (Note: If you are planning to say multimedia, you will have to be more specific as all types of systems are capable of doing that)
A: Will be used for learning / practicing ( tools like Oracle / Cognos BI / Abinitio / SAS Enterprise etc ... I am a software professional BTW) , watching HD Movies , Video Encoding ( i shoot at 1080p), Photoshop + Lightroom fr my DSLR.. Virtualization ( for my Unix / Win 2008 server environment ) etc to name a few..

2. Are you open to alternate ideas/products giving similar better performance but offering more VFM/ sellers? If not- why?
A: Yes

3. What is your MAX budget?
A: 50k(Max)

4. Planning to overclock?
A: Not now, but will do if need arises to squeeze more juice..

5. Which OS are you planning to use?
A: Windows 7 / Windows Server 2008

6. How much hard drive space is needed?
A: I dont need HDD since i already have 1 TB WD SATA II. Need advice for buying additional SSD ( 60GB/120GB SATA II or III ) for OS & Apps.

7. What resolution will the screen run at & whats the size of the screen you want? If you already want have one and want to use it, mention its resolution and size.
A: Already have a Samsung Syncmaster P2370MS.

8. How would you rate your hardware knowledge from the count of 1-10? (1 being the lowest, 5 being you are somewhat in sync with the current performers and 10 being the highest)
A: 5

9. Have you ever built a desktop before or will this be done by an assembler?
A: Never done , but keen on building this one..

10. When are you planning to buy the system?
A: Tommorow.. Thats makes for the Title 'Urgent Advice'

11. Are you one of the types looking out for "future proof" configurations?
A: Yea, at this budget who doesnt..

12. Are there going to be any components that you don't want to include in this new rig? If yes, do mention.