bro gone mad, wants a mac pro

doomgiver

Warframe
my bro has gone mad, says he wants to buy a mac pro.

so he goes to the fanboy site, and challenges me to beat the "rig" (read, apple cart) he has selected.

i've got NO experience in dual processor systems, so im turning to you guys for help. make a rig that can beat the puny apple cart.

Two 2.93GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon “Westmere” (12 cores)
64GB (8x8GB)
Mac Pro RAID Card
2TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s hard drive
Two ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB
Two 18x SuperDrives
Apple LED Cinema Display (27" flat panel)
Apple Magic Mouse + Magic Trackpad
Apple Wireless Keyboard

the total comes to $18k or 800k rupees.
as you might have guessed, its just a hypothetical testosterone fueled duel of good(me, intel, amd, nvidia, hell, everyone) vs the Evil only known as apple.

price no object, but do try to keep it within 800k rupees

vickybat

I am the night...I am...
To be honest, the apple config is pretty good except for the paltry 5770cf setup. The cpu config is actually a skulltrail platform that allows two cpus to be fit simultaneously.

Look out for recently released sandybridge based xeons. They are much faster than older nehalem based westmere cores.

desiibond

Bond, Desi Bond!
Here is one config:

Dual Six Core Intel® Xeon® Processor E5645, 2.40GHz,12M L3, 5.86GT/s [Included in Price]
48GB,1333MHz,DDR3RDIMM,ECC(6DIMMS) [Included in Price]
Dual 6.0GB NVIDIA® Quadro® 6000, Quad MON, 4 DP & 2 DVI [Included in Price]
or

2.5GB NVIDIA® Quadro® 5000, DUAL MON, 2DP & 1DVI [Included in Price] + NVIDIA® Tesla™ C2050 Computing Processor [Included in Price]