Beginner's Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

aby.exe

Right off the assembly line
Beginner's Thread part-II

Hai,My name is Aby James from Kerala.I am new to this forum.I am just a beginner in computer and technology.I am in budding stage only,so my questions may sound stupid.

I thought I would create a single thread for all the questions i ask and keep updating with more questions.

Qusetions-1
(All answered)
1.)What is LINUX?
2.)Why is it so popular?
3.)Is it true that no virus infections will affect LINUX?If so how?
4.)can we incorporate XP and LINUX in same harddrive?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Questions-2(To be answered)
I need a net connection,so asked the following questions.
1.)Which is the best way to connect to the net?
2.)What are the things that happens when we are connecting to the net,connected and when disconnecting(i mean how is it connected,the stats and stuff)
3.)I am a hardcore online gamer,and i want an unlimited,uninterupted(That is i never want to get disconnected while gaming) and the fastestISP.
I live in kerala.

Thank you

:)

Last edited:

rhitwick

Democracy is a myth
Hai,My name is Aby James from Kerala.I am new to this forum.I am just a beginner in computer and technology.I am in budding stage only,so my questions may sound stupid.

I thought I would create a single thread for all the questions i ask and keep updating with more questions.

Hi, welcome. Please use normal font. Don't write in bold.

1.)What is LINUX?
*en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux
*www.answers.com/main/ntquery?s=Linux&gwp=13
2.)Why is it so popular?
Bcz,
its FREE, to use it u don't need to PAY.
Its open source. Means, the sourcecode for the distro is provided with the OS, and u can tweak the functionalities as u like.
I guess other OSS frnds may provide some light here.
Again use google :"Why Linux popular"