Become a Googlebot, get a Free Pass

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by blackpearl, Nov 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    The Problem:

    Sometimes you conduct some search on Google and the engine returns a number of results, but when you try to open the ones that looks the most promising you get a registration page. One thing that you can do is click on the cached content to view the page directly from Google's cache. But what if you want to view another page from the same site, not present in google's cache?

    The Solution:

    Its evident that there are some sites that allows Google but not you. So why not disguise yourself as Google? Thats exactly what we will do by changing the browser's user agent to Googlebot. Copy the following code into notepad and save it as a .reg file

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00 
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\5.0\User Agent] 
    @="Googlebot/2.1" 
    "Compatible"="+http://www.googlebot.com/bot.html"
    Now double-click the file to merge it into registry. In order to change back to the default user agent use this:

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00 
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\5.0\User Agent] 
    @="Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)"
    Unfortunately, this only works with IE and not Opera. There is no way to add new user agent in Opera AFAIK. There is some way to do it in Firefox but you have to search that yourself on google. To check whether you have sucessfully changed the user agent, type the follwing into the address bar and hit enter.

    Code:
    javascript(BrowserDetect.browser)
    Now for some practice. One good example is http://www.governmentsecurity.org/forum/index.php. Anybody who has tried to visit this website will find that it requires you to register in order to view the forum. But registering is tricky. You need to submit your own article to the site afterwhich they will evaluate it and then decide whether to give you membership or not. Now visit this forum after spoofing your IE's user agent, aaha you are welcomed!!!

    Note, that this method might not work with all websites.

    Fun Exercise 1:

    Use a different browser like Opera or Firefox to login to thinkdigit.com. Then click on Quick Links>Who's online (you will also find this near the bottom of the page). On the page that opens choose "Search Bots" and hit go. No matter what time of the day or night it is, you will find a couple of googlebots, msnbots and yahoobots crawling on the website. Now open IE and view thinkdigit.com, this time as a googlebot. Refresh the page you were viewing in your other browser. This time you will see another googlebot appearing which is actually you!!

    Fun Exercise 2:

    On the same "Who's online" page you can see what thread the other online members and guest are viewing at that particular time. Speaking of privacy, huh?
     
    anandk, shaunak, aadipa and 2 others like this.
  2. soham

    soham New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jorhat, Assam.
    Nice tutorial. But wont you land up in trouble if you mess with government security sites?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    It isn't a government website, just the name is.

    Anyway, if the mods feel that reference to that website was inappropiate then they might remove the link.
     
  4. Chirag

    Chirag bang bang!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Vadodara
    Alternate way to bypass registration page is find some username and pass at http://bugmenot.com
     
  5. AshishSharma

    AshishSharma Livin' in the ghetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hmm .... Home
    Simple Get "User Agent Switcher" Add-On for Firefox, whenever a site doesn't allow you in change your user Agent to Goglebot and then refresh ....
     
  6. piyush gupta

    piyush gupta New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    never land
    gud tutor
     
  7. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    Anything for Opera ??
    __________
    It only shows IE6, Netscape 4.8 and Opera 8.5 but no googlebot. How to add that ?
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2006
  8. forever

    forever filth is me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    omfg, this does work, for ff u dont need to create any reg entry

    -- go to TOOLS > USER AGENT SWITCHER > OPTIONS > OPTIONS, there add a user agent and in the DESCRIPTION FIELD use "Googlebot/2.1" (without " )
    and in USER AGENT type "+http://www.googlebot.com/bot.html", and now use this agent whenever logging into a protected forum, hopefully itll work, thanks a ton blackpearl
     
    cool_dude_prav likes this.
  9. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    ^^ Thanx for the info
     
  10. freakitude

    freakitude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  11. Akhil Jain

    Akhil Jain New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rohtak
    really good info
     
  12. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Good tips! I added a point to your reputation :)
     
  13. prakash2119

    prakash2119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Iam unable to merge in to registry its giving some error that it cant import ...iam on windows98
     
  14. Quiz_Master

    Quiz_Master * Teh Flirt King *

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Originally From : Ratlam M.P., Currently in: Hyder
    WORKING.....
    Cool...
     
  15. forever

    forever filth is me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @prakash
    the reg editor version for 98 is different, i dont remember it , but that is what is needed to be changed i think..
     
  16. OP
    OP
    blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    For Win98 replace the line "Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00 " with "REGEDIT4".
     
  17. delivi

    delivi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tuticorin
    thax dude for this tutiorial

    This is the first time I knew that we can change the useragent.
     
  18. shaunak

    shaunak Tux Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Not working imm on vista and ie7
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2006
  19. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    pretty impressive :) thanx !
     
  20. debiprasad_sahoo

    debiprasad_sahoo Web Junky 2.0

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, Cuttack
    Nice Info dude. Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page