Baffled by GPU specifications

pauldmps

Banned
I'll buy a laptop soon. Hence, I was doing some research myself for the best GPUs that is available within my budget.

As usual, I headed to notebookcheck.net for GPU specifications.

I am a totally noob when it comes to GPUs to I got baffled by so many terms in the specs like :

No. of Pipelines
Core Speed
Shader Speed
Memory Speed
Memory Bus Width
Memory Type
etc.

I also learnt that higher numbers in model no. does not mean better performance. For example the HD 6570M is just a renamed version of HD 5730. So the performance is about the same.

1. Please explain me each & every terms in the GPU specs.
2. Which parameters should one focus on for good gaming performance ?
For example, should I go for 512MB GPU with faster core speed or 1GB card with slower core speed, etc.
3. Which parameters should one focus on for 3D applications & multimedia performance ?
4. Anything else you would like to add.

ico

Super Moderator
Staff member
I also learnt that higher numbers in model no. does not mean better performance. For example the HD 6570M is just a renamed version of HD 5730. So the performance is about the same.
Even HD 6310M will not be faster than HD 5650M.

As far as AMDs numbering is concerned, the first digit from the left represents the generation.

HD 5730M was one of the higher-end GPUs of HD 5xxxM generation whereas HD 6570M is the mid-end GPU of the new HD 6xxxM generation.

As a general rule, judge GPUs by their performance only. No need to get baffled by those terms in specs.

At the moment, HD 5650M is considered a capable mobile GPU. I wouldn't suggest for going anything below that if you want to game on your laptop.

OP
pauldmps

pauldmps

Banned
I compared some benchmarks & I think HD 5730 is better than HD 5650, isn't it.

Also will 2GB Nvidia 525M better than 1GB HD 5730 gvien that the 5730 is a faster card ?

OP
pauldmps

pauldmps

Banned