AMD is NOT crap. Right?

Discussion in 'CPU / Motherboards' started by Astrix, Nov 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Astrix

    Astrix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gurgaon
    I was planning to go in for AMD Athlon 64 3000+ but this dealer tells me not to. He says to go in for Intel P4 insead coz supposedly AMD processors give problems after like six months or so. He said something about "cache failing" which I personally found hard to believe. All in "his experience" of course

    I'm not sure I believe him, but it would be great if you guys could assuage my fears. Have any of you been using an AMD processor for a long time? With no problems? Like the performance?

    Thanks
     
  2. there_is_no_spoon

    there_is_no_spoon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I have been using amd 3000+ for a month and a half now-- no troubles at all yet........ :) .....(touchwood)
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Astrix

    Astrix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gurgaon
    Ah. I was looking at more than that, that "six month" period he talks of. Sounds pretty ridiculous... but still...
     
  4. icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    thats total bull.....AMD 64 is right now selling hot cakes. If at all the cache failed and that too in 6 months dont u think more people would have complained about it ??? It sounds to me more like ur dealer trying to palm off some Intels he not able to get rid off. Also AMD 64's are future proof. I personally had a AMD Athalon XP 2400+ for over a year and just recently went in for a AMD 2600 + Barton for OC purposes...both are working like a charm mate.
     
  5. freshseasons

    freshseasons King of my own Castle

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Re: AMD is NOT ****. Right?

    Computer Dealers earn more from selling Intel than AMD as Intel Processor earn more Margins for the Dealer. Intel not only spends a lots in advertisement but they also make sure Dealers are lot happier in selling Pentiums by giving them more Margin. Thats one of their strong strategy. Like Wise its all in the favour of Dealer to encourage Coustomers to purchase Intel than AMD.However who pays unlimatly we know.
    Ignoe the Dealer and go ahead with AMD..Will serve you a lot better and more future ready if you a willig to spend that extra Cash.
     
  6. rohanbee

    rohanbee New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lost in the woods !!!
    Hey i read/heard somewhere that AMD is opening direct stores all across india , the first one is already up and running in Delhi (nehru place i think) that should put you at ease and give you all the range of their products at good prices in india. :)
     
  7. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Astrix, if you're asking about AMD CPUs in general and not 64-bit
    exclusively, here's my experience in brief.

    For the last 3 yrs, I've had at least two AMD computers in my home at any one time, running an average of 15 hrs a day. I've built over 100 AMD machines for others too and not a single one has failed.

    Three of them suffered lightning strikes at different times through networks and they all survived. One had only the discrete LAN card destroyed while the other two had integrated LAN ports and the motherboards had to be replaced (mobo chips literally blown apart, the network switch a charred mass). But the CPUs all ran normally the next day.

    That's how tough they are - and probably Intel CPUs too in this
    respect, though I've used a much smaller number of Intel systems.

    I've built only a relatively few 64-bit machines and of course, they've
    been around only a short while. Needless to say, they're doing well.
    --
     
  8. dcp15121980

    dcp15121980 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, kerala, kollam, Assaramom
    keep in mind that when u buy a good processor u need to buy a good mobd for it so that u could get the best performance.dont buy good processor and low quality mobd that may degrade the processor even from the normal performance
     
  9. netcracker

    netcracker New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa
    Yes go for AMD...btw is it true that if one doesn't run a 64 bit OS a 64bit processor is not utilised fully and still acts like a 32bit processor
     
  10. wise

    wise New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes netcracker, athlon 64 runs in 32 bit mode for 32 bit OS.
    But 64 bit is not the only good thing about athlon-64. The other gem is on-die memory controller which enhances system performance significantly even when running 32 Bit.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Astrix

    Astrix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gurgaon
    Thanks for all the comments, guys :)

    Could someone suggest a good, reasonable motherboard for the A64? I was thinking on the lines of a K8V. Onboard stuff (sound, preferably video too) would be great.
     
  12. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    ATM there's not much in the way of onboard video. Let's hope nVidia comes up with another good integrated video like they did with their nForce and nForce2 chipsets for Athlon XPs.

    There's at least one mobo with S3 Unichrome graphics, but unless you're going to use it mostly for office work, IMHO it's a poor match for the A64's capabilities. Can't recall the model number right now..... I'm getting ready for bed, perhaps tomorrow ... :) G'night.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page