All laptop related queries here!!!

izzikio_rage

*www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=107265
*www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=113481
*www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showthread.php?t=109085

yup they are a little old ...but will give you a fair idea of what is in the market right now...

harmik

Thanks a lot for the posts. Had already read 2 of them.
3rd was pretty informative.
Reading the reviews for Dell Studio 15 is tipping the scales in its favour. :)
But still, any new suggestions are welcome...

hackerzlab

i'm planning to buy a laptop and my budget is 60K

m gonna install windows xp or may be windows 7 if it comes out. m looking for atleast c2d 2.0 (minimum) with which can support upto a 4GB RAM atleast. a simple graphics card cuz playing games is not in the list. although will be dealing with movies and photo editing.

i want a laptop which is light and also whch doesn't get heated up easily and yeah thin too if possible. how's apple in the market?

m looking at apple mac... how about any dell or lenovo, or sony models?

technocrack

Friends,

I got a problem with my Sony Vaio (VGN-NR430E). It is not switching on at all. When given to Sony service centre, they said motherboard is gone and need to be replaced. The estimate given is Rs.21,000. Though the laptop is only 9 months old, it doesn't have warranty as it was bought in US :x

What shall I do? :sad:

Any suggestions?

Mike84

i'm planning to buy a laptop and my budget is 60K

m gonna install windows xp or may be windows 7 if it comes out. m looking for atleast c2d 2.0 (minimum) with which can support upto a 4GB RAM atleast. a simple graphics card cuz playing games is not in the list. although will be dealing with movies and photo editing.

i want a laptop which is light and also whch doesn't get heated up easily and yeah thin too if possible. how's apple in the market?

m looking at apple mac... how about any dell or lenovo, or sony models?

Del Studio XPS 16

bigron

Planning to buy a laptop.Screen size 12-13 inches and weight less then 2kgs.optical drive and all the necessary paraphanelia.budget not a constraint. kindly suggest.

se7en_sg

S E 7 E N
Hi All,
I am interested in buying a netbook/mini notebook under 20K to supplement my desktop. The primary use will be surfing the web (downloading lots of files..), reading large PDFs & documents on the go and some basic multimedia viewing (viewing pictures, videos, songs).

I visited a few shops in Chandni Chowk, Kolkata but the only netbook under 20K
was the ASUS EeePC 900HA (1.6GHz Atom, 1GB RAM, Win XP Home, 160GB HDD, 5 hrs battery life)
It was available for Rs.17.5K + taxes.

I couldn't find the Lenovo S9/Acer Aspire one 9" models.
Lenovo S10 was really impressive; so was SAMSUNG NC10, but it was way beyond my budget.

Are the Acer/Lenovo 9" netbooks are still available in India ?

Also, how good is the ASUS Eee PC after-sales support?

Also, I hope the Atom 1.6Ghz CPU can handle firefox, thunderbird, VLC, Acrobat & Openoffice (not all at the same time though!:) ).

geek_rocker

Hi everyone,
I'm going to buy a laptop. My budget is Rs. 50,000. I've been looking at the Dell Studio 15 and I think it's a good deal after upgrading the HDD to 500 GB. It has good graphics too.
I shall use my notebook for Internet/E-mail, Programming, Audio recording/editing, and some gaming. The ATi Mobility Radeon HD 4570 256 MB is good enough for games like F.E.A.R. but I think it cannot run Crysis. :| Will the 512MB version be better?

Also, I want to know if I have better options within my budget.

Thanks in advance,
~GR~

HD4570 won't be able to play crysis whatever amount of RAM it has. You may be able to play at ultra low resolution.

varunparakh

Gamer in me
I want to buy a notebook mainly for gaming.Suggest me which one is better for playing the latest demanding games like crysis,gta 4 etc..

Chioice 1:Dell Studio 15

Processor
Intel® Centrino® 2 Mobile Technology Intel® CoreTM 2 Duo Processor P8600
Operating System
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
Operating System
Chipset
Intel® Cantiga GM45 Chipset
Memory
4GB Dual-channel DDR2 SDRAM (2 x 2GB)
Hard Drive
320GB 7600RPM SATA Hard Drive
Display/Monitor
15.6” 720p WLED (1366x768) TrueLifeTM
Graphic Card
512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570
CD-ROM/DVD-ROM/Disk drive
Slot Load 8X max DVD+/-RW D with DVD+R double layer write capability
I/O Ports
VGA, HDMI 3x USB 2.0 (1x USB/E-SATA combo, 2x standard) IEEE 1394a / Gigabit NIC (no RJ11 – via dongle for USB External Modem) 1x Stereo in, 2x headphone/speaker out 8 in 1 media card reader ExpressCard 34

Approx 55K

Choice 2:HP DV5 1221TX

Processor
Intel C2D T6400(2GHz,@MB L2 Cache,800 MHz FSB)
15'4" Infinity Flush Glass WideScreen
HDMI v1.3 with HDCP Key
Hybrid TV Tuner Card
4GB PC-26400 DDR2(800MHz)
320 GB Serial ATA (5400RPM)
nVIDIA GeForce 9600 M GT(512MB)
FingerPrint Reader,Integrated Web Camera & Microphones
Blu-ray Drive with SuperMulti DL(8.5GB)DVD Writer
Windows Vista Home Premium(32bit
Three USB 2.0 Ports, • One IEEE 1394a Port (4 pins), Two Stereo Headphone Jacks, One RJ-11, One RJ-45, One VGA Out, Expansion port 3 - Docking port

Costing Approx 59K

I want to buy a notebook mainly for gaming.Suggest me which one is better for playing the latest demanding games like crysis,gta 4 etc..

Chioice 1:Dell Studio 15

Processor
Intel® Centrino® 2 Mobile Technology Intel® CoreTM 2 Duo Processor P8600
Operating System
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
Operating System
Chipset
Intel® Cantiga GM45 Chipset
Memory
4GB Dual-channel DDR2 SDRAM (2 x 2GB)
Hard Drive
320GB 7600RPM SATA Hard Drive
Display/Monitor
15.6” 720p WLED (1366x768) TrueLifeTM
Graphic Card
512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570
CD-ROM/DVD-ROM/Disk drive
Slot Load 8X max DVD+/-RW D with DVD+R double layer write capability
I/O Ports
VGA, HDMI 3x USB 2.0 (1x USB/E-SATA combo, 2x standard) IEEE 1394a / Gigabit NIC (no RJ11 – via dongle for USB External Modem) 1x Stereo in, 2x headphone/speaker out 8 in 1 media card reader ExpressCard 34

Approx 55K

Choice 2:HP DV5 1221TX

Processor
Intel C2D T6400(2GHz,@MB L2 Cache,800 MHz FSB)
15'4" Infinity Flush Glass WideScreen
HDMI v1.3 with HDCP Key
Hybrid TV Tuner Card
4GB PC-26400 DDR2(800MHz)
320 GB Serial ATA (5400RPM)
nVIDIA GeForce 9600 M GT(512MB)
FingerPrint Reader,Integrated Web Camera & Microphones
Blu-ray Drive with SuperMulti DL(8.5GB)DVD Writer
Windows Vista Home Premium(32bit
Three USB 2.0 Ports, • One IEEE 1394a Port (4 pins), Two Stereo Headphone Jacks, One RJ-11, One RJ-45, One VGA Out, Expansion port 3 - Docking port

Costing Approx 59K

Processor: Dell (more cache, lower power consumption, faster)
Display: Dell (LED display rocks)
HDD: Dell (faster rpm)
Battery backup: Dell (low power processor and LED display means more battery life)
Graphics: same
ram: same
support: dell
multimedia: HP

varunparakh

Gamer in me
Does ATI radeon 4570 n nvidia 9600 m gt has the same performance?benchmarks show a significant dif...this is the main aspect m lukin forward to..plz tell me which one as overall better for gaming?

k4ce

^ *www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphics-Cards-Benchmark-List.844.0.html ...... compare the two cards here .... wid individual game benchmarks

varunparakh

Gamer in me
I have already seen this,i wanted to know how is the performance going to be with the above mentioned config.??

So plzz tell me which of the above 2 lappy is best for gaming..

This is the final time I am saying, That Dell laptop will be lot faster (faster HDD, processor and similar GPU). If you want speed and excellent support, go for Dell.

damngoodman999

damnbadman666
I have already seen this,i wanted to know how is the performance going to be with the above mentioned config.??

So plzz tell me which of the above 2 lappy is best for gaming..

dude that 9600MGT is better than 4570 , but that HP model has HDD & battery back up problem as for gaming go for MSI which comes with same 9600MGT

as for CRYSIS u can expect the good resolution in the laptop & also 9600MGT or 4570 is not future proof for the games upcoming .

get a decent laptop and good gaming desktop .

the gaming LAPTOP that too plays CRYSIS @ 1280 X 1024 with all high settings is DELL XPX 1730 ... which costs a LAKH & above , it comes with 9 cell battery only backup for 1 & 1/2 hrs thats all ..

varunparakh

Gamer in me
So one last question
1.Suggest me any other laptop(best for gaming) within 60K(any company)
2.Are MSI lappy's availble in india??
3.Should i get a lappy from U.S(less expensive,wider range of choice HP or Dell or any other)
4.Should a wait for the Budget which is going to be released on July 31st??

Plzz help me..I am a student pursuing B.Tech(C.S.E)

damngoodman999

damnbadman666
So one last question
1.Suggest me any other laptop(best for gaming) within 60K(any company)
2.Are MSI lappy's availble in india??
3.Should i get a lappy from U.S(less expensive,wider range of choice HP or Dell or any other)
4.Should a wait for the Budget which is going to be released on July 31st??

Plzz help me..I am a student pursuing B.Tech(C.S.E)

if u play @ & below 1024 X 768 @ medium grafix for CRYSIS , go for HP that one but get a 9 cell battery

r u living in a DORM/HOSTEL ???