Status
Not open for further replies.

Plasma_Snake

Indidiot
Hi Guys I'm a total noob in the field of Open Source i.e Linux, so
would really appreciate ur help if u guys Help me out. I've left a 60GB raw unpartitioned space on my HDD and want to install Linux on it. So I did went through my Linux installation video of CBT Nuggets but they showed
RedHat installation and that too very old one so it wasn't of much help so here it goes:
  1. What's best distro of Linux for beginners that allow us to experience both the GUI and CUI capabilities of LINUX?
  2. Where to get it?
  3. I've got Ubuntu 7.10 from Digit's Dec 2007 DVD. Should I stick with it?
  4. How to install it?
:oops: I know I've bit here more than I can chew but for experienced guys like u problem would be few, so please help!:)

ray|raven

Think Zen.
What's best distro of Linux for beginners that allow us to experience both the GUI and CUI capabilities of LINUX?

Ubuntu 7.10 or Linux Mint if you dont have Internet access.

Where to get it?

Both can be downloaded, Ubuntu also ships free cds, shipit.ubuntu.com

I've got Ubuntu 7.10 from Digit's Dec 2007 DVD. Should I stick with it?

Yes, as long as you have a working internet connxn.
Ubuntu doesnt come with multimedia codecs bundled, so you'll need net access in-order to download them.

Linux Mint is a better choice in the case that you dont have an internet connxn, as it comes with codecs bundled.

How to install it?

Ubuntu is very easy to install,
try this guide : *www.howtoforge.com/the_perfect_desktop_ubuntu_gutsy_gibbon

Last edited:

Faun

Wahahaha~!
Staff member
ubuntu 7.10 is a decent noob friendly distro.
mint is also recommended.

If its a live cd then just pop in and it will boot instantly, when the desktop comes u willl see an install icon, double click it.

Installation will proceed, just when the partition scheme comes, select manual partitioning, then create an ext3 partition with mount point "/" and a swap partition.