A few questions

Itz_Me!!!

Hi guys,

One of my friends is in university of florida and is coming back to india for Diwali. And I am placing an order for gadgets to him.

So I want your help regarding a few things:

1. Which is the best way to buy products in USA, online or directly from shops?

2. Who should pay, me or him? (To avoid those annoying taxes) (Obviously the ultimate source would be my account only :) )

3. How many products (in number) of the same type can he carry coz he is getting an I-Phone n a Lappy for his family too. (Bad news for me :( )

4. Whats the best deal site?

5. What all things I should be looking for? (I know its stupid but i cant think outside digicams, laptops, usb drives and cellphones.)
I mean something which I shouldn't miss ;) coz I dnt think he is coming back in next few years. Saala India shaadi karne aa raha hai, sachcha Hindustani jo hai :)

Thanks a lot in advance!!

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
hmmm........really a lots of ques...........anyway.........

1. I think the best way is 2 but directly frm shops..........otherwise if u get a faulty one it will b a lot of harrasment to replace that............there is also a chance of not replacing........

2. Him. N he hav 2 pay tax(more if he buy it frm thr n exporting to here!!!!!!)

3. NO. of products I think depends on ur luck. It depends on Airport authority n Rulz. But by default u can only carry one product of same type at a time.

4. Wait fr othr members 2 suggest. I'm not sure. U may try Rediff, Yahoo, Ebay etc. those common sites.

5. Depends on u. But I heard Lappy, Pen Drv, Handycam etc are cheap than here.........Its common.......

anyway All avobe mentioned suggetions are not fr sure...........i mean I'm not sure.........Wait till othr members reply........

n lastly sorry fr my bad eng. plz manage...........!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi guys,

One of my friends is in university of florida and is coming back to india for Diwali. And I am placing an order for gadgets to him.

So I want your help regarding a few things:

1. Which is the best way to buy products in USA, online or directly from shops?

2. Who should pay, me or him? (To avoid those annoying taxes) (Obviously the ultimate source would be my account only :) )

3. How many products (in number) of the same type can he carry coz he is getting an I-Phone n a Lappy for his family too. (Bad news for me :( )

4. Whats the best deal site?

5. What all things I should be looking for? (I know its stupid but i cant think outside digicams, laptops, usb drives and cellphones.)
I mean something which I shouldn't miss ;) coz I dnt think he is coming back in next few years. Saala India shaadi karne aa raha hai, sachcha Hindustani jo hai :)

Thanks a lot in advance!!

1) online for sure.
2) Better the amount is paid through American credit/debit card.
3) One personal and one official (like given by employer)
4) deals2buy.com has listing of daily deals. Top sites include

amazon.com
tigerdirect.com
buy.com
newegg.com
circuitcity.com
walmart.com
bestbuy.com

5) laptops are dead cheap. India has better pricing for mobile phones. computer hardware, cameras, most electronic devices are pretty cheap there. Best deal would be laptop or cordless phones. :)
Try to get product with international warranty like Dell's HP's and Apple's.