A dual core Sempron for Rs. 1950 only

Discussion in 'Technology News' started by great_manish, Aug 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. great_manish

    great_manish New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Park Lane Kolkata
    Source : http://www.vmodtech.com/main/article/sempron-140-unlock-two-cores/

    Hardware enthusiasts all over the place were thrilled to hear the news, back in February, that triple core AMD processors could be unlocked by some motherboards to gain an extra processing core. But it turns out that the X3's were not the only chips that had the potential for cores being unlocked.

    The AMD Sempron 140 is a low-cost, single-core AMD CPU. Here in Vancouver, it costs about $50. As it turns out, if you have a motherboard that supports the unlocking feature (typically called 'Advanced Clock Calibration' in the BIOS), you can sometimes unlock a second core of the Sempron 140, effectively making it an Athlon II X2.

    This trick will not work 100% of the time though, keep in mind. Generally AMD disables cores that aren't working right on the CPU, for the single core Sempron parts. Conceivably though, if they didn't have enough chips in the fab plants that had a dysfunctional core, then they would have to disable working cores on CPUs in order to fill the Sempron production quotas. For those folks out there that this does work for, it is a extremely cheap way to get a 2.7 GHz dual-core processor that also has decent overclocking potential.

    Certainly for those people that know what they are doing, with tricks like this it is possible to build a great gaming computer for only a couple hundred of bucks.
     
  2. MetalheadGautham

    MetalheadGautham AFK

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I'm surprised its not Sempron II.

    Anyway, there is going to be a REAL dual core sempron which can be unlocked to a quad core some time later if we are lucky. The Athlon II X4 and X3 CPUs may have a core locked brother themselves.
     
  3. comp@ddict

    comp@ddict EXIT: DATA Junkyard

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^LOl if that happens I will surely buy, a fool wud miss out this opportunity.
     
  4. MetalheadGautham

    MetalheadGautham AFK

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Imagine Rs. 3000/- quad cores :grin:
     
  5. x3060

    x3060 A LOTR fan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow..if its true am in for it :)
     
  6. OP
    OP
    great_manish

    great_manish New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Park Lane Kolkata
    well its quite possible that the processor was an athlon x2 of which one core did not pass the quality check ...
     
  7. MetalheadGautham

    MetalheadGautham AFK

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Its not "quite possible". Its a FACT. ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page