1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

30k Desktop for 3D animation.

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Ihatemyself, Oct 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ihatemyself

    Ihatemyself What?

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My friend wants to buy a desktop within 30k.He will use it mainly for 3d animation softs like maya3d & graphic designing.Please suggest appropriate config. including motherboard,RAM, graphic card, monitor,mouse etc. as im not keeping up with current tech market trends:)he'll be buying it from nehru place,delhi..so suggest a shop too.
     
  2. Cilus

    Cilus laborare est orare

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7,308
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    For running 3D application you need to have good multi-core processor, good amount of ram, and a decent Graphics card. At 30k budget my suggestion will be an AMD platform which will satisfy all your needs as well as good for gaming and other stuffs.

    Here goes the config
    Athlon II X4 620 2.6GHz @ 5.8k
    Biostar TA785GE 128M @ 4.3k
    Kingston 2X2GB DDR2 800MHz RAM @ 2k
    Palit 9800GT 1GB GDDR3 @ 6.7k
    or Sapphire HD4850 1GB GDDR3 @ 7.4k
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB @ 2.5k
    Microsoft Comfort Curve 2000 @ 0.9k
    BenQ G900WD 19" LCD Monitor @ 6.4k
    Zebronics Bijli Cabinet@ 1.5K
    Zebronics 550W Pro @ 2.8k


    The price is around 32k. This config will good for 3D work and as well as for above average gaming. For graphics card section, my suggestion is a Nvidia card because a lot of 3D applications support nvidia CUDA technology, which gives u serius performance boost. Alternatively you can go for the XFX 9600GSO 768MB DDR2 @ 4.2k, which is a cheaper alternative. This card is a special edition card having 96 stream processors compared to the 64 processors in normal 9600 cards. It is the best buy card in Digit August issue.
     
  3. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    The above config is good but I think he should get altleast 22" LCD as he needs this for 3D work which requires a good amount of screen space. He can settle for a local cabinet which should not cost more than Rs. 500 to get a bigger LCD. Further he can save on getting a normal Logitech Keyboard + Mouse combo which will cost not more than Rs.700.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Ihatemyself

    Ihatemyself What?

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    he wants a good 22" monitor . so i guess we'll have to compromise the quality of cabinet and keyboard. any monitor recommendations( viewing angles must be good!!)
     
  5. furious_gamer

    furious_gamer Excessive happiness

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore
    @OP

    Get Dell S2209W @ 10.5k(You need to increase ur budget,mean,ur friend:mrgreen:)
    or
    Samsung 2233SW @ 9.2k

    For gfx, get the 9800GT as it has the PhysX and CUDA over the HD4850.
     
  6. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    For monitor go with Samsung 2233SW, a good value for money 22' Full HD LCD Monitor.
     
  7. hellknight

    hellknight BSD init pwns System V

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    atapi.sys as Stuxnet
    You could also try AOC F22" 1080p LCD monitor..
     
  8. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    +1 to Samsung and AOC. Dell S2209W is expensive. AOC fovi F22 is for 8.8k or so.
     
  9. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Don't go for gaming GPU if you wanna do 3D design etc. Look for these:

    ATI FireGL V3600
    ATI FireGL™ V5600
    Quadro NVS 295
    Quadro NVS 420.

    V3600 and NVS295 should be avialable inside 7k.

    seriously speaking, 30k is not enough for a workstation setup.

    Q9300: 10.5k
    Gigabyte G41 mobo: 4.5k-5k or P45 based mobo: 6k
    NVS295 PCI-express X16 GDDR3 RAM : 6.5k-7k
    Corsair XMS2 2X2GB DDR2 800MHz RAM @ 2.5k-3k
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB @ 2.5k
    Logitech normal k/b: 350 bucks
    Logitech/Microsoft Laser mouse: 1000 bucks
    Samsung 2033SW :7k or 2233SW: 9.5k
    Zebronics Bijli Cabinet@ 1.5K
    Corsair VX450W: 4k

    This is the minimum recommended config for 3D design. Yes, it does overshoot the budget but ....
     
  10. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^Why not core i5 750 @ 10.5k and Gigabyte P55-UD2M @ 7.2k or the Intel DP55WB @ 6.6k? DDR3 RAM should also help in his work, should it not? IMO core i5, at the same price is much better than the Core 2 architecture.
     
  11. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    ^^yes. it's a much better option and is recommended setup. Let's see if the OP is ready to increase the budget :)

    here are three different setups, one dual core, one core2quad and one core i5.

    setup 1:

    AMD Athlon II X4 630: 5.5k-6k
    Gigabyte or ASUS 780G board: 4.5k or Gigabyte 785G : 5.5k
    Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800MHz 2x2GB : 2.5k-3k or Transcend DDR3 1333MHz 2x2Gb: 4k-4.5k
    NVS295 PCI-express X16 GDDR3 RAM : 6.5k-7k or ATI FireGL™ V3600: 7.5k or ATI FireGL™ V3700: 5.6k-6k
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB @ 2.5k
    Logitech normal k/b: 350 bucks
    Logitech/Microsoft Laser mouse: 1000 bucks
    Samsung 2033SW :7k
    Zebronics Bijli Cabinet@ 1.5K
    Corsair ExtremePower 500W: 2.5k


    setup 2:

    Q9300: 10.5k
    Gigabyte G41 mobo: 4.5k-5k or P45 based mobo: 6k
    NVS295 PCI-express X16 GDDR3 RAM : 6.5k-7k or ATI FireGL™ V3600: 7.5k or ATI FireGL™ V3700: 5.6k-6k
    Corsair XMS2 2X2GB DDR2 800MHz RAM @ 2.5k-3k
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB @ 2.5k
    Logitech normal k/b: 350 bucks
    Logitech/Microsoft Laser mouse: 1000 bucks
    Samsung 2033SW :7k or 2233SW: 9.5k
    Zebronics Bijli Cabinet@ 1.5K
    Corsair VX450W: 4k or GlacialPower 650AA:4.5k (look for model 650AA and not 650A)

    setup 3:

    Core i5 750: 11k
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD2: 7.5k
    NVS295 PCI-express X16 GDDR3 RAM : 6.5k-7k or ATI FireGL™ V3600: 7.5k or ATI FireGL™ V3700: 5.6k-6k
    Corsair XMS2 2X2GB DDR2 800MHz RAM @ 2.5k-3k
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB @ 2.5k
    Logitech normal k/b: 350 bucks
    Logitech/Microsoft Laser mouse: 1000 bucks
    Samsung 2033SW :7k or 2233SW: 9.5k
    Zebronics Bijli Cabinet@ 1.5K
    Corsair VX450W: 4k or GlacialPower 650AA:4.5k (look for model 650AA and not 650A)
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2009
  12. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Nicely put desii. In setup 1 its CoolerMaster Extreme power and not corsair. :) Why not recommend GlacialPower 650@ 4.5k in setup 2 or 3? Future proof if op can extend his budget. :)
     
  13. Cilus

    Cilus laborare est orare

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7,308
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Guys, 3D working does not mean you need a super computer. Working in Maya or 3D Studio Max or Blender does not need a fortune to build a computer.
    Sure Desibond's suggestions (2 and 3)are much better option and more future proof, but it is far greater than a 30k budget(more than 40k). Here we have to suggest the optimum solution for price and performance as per the budget mentioned.

    In the 1st solution suggested by Desibond, I think Phenom II X2 545 is not suitable because it is a dual core processor. Today's most of the 3d software are multithreaded and multi-core aware. So more the number of processor cores, more performance can be gained. Same holds true for Audio-Video encoding and editing software. So a Quad core is a minimum requirement.
     
  14. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    @Cilus, done. replaced Phenom II X2 with Athlon II X4.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Ihatemyself

    Ihatemyself What?

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for ur response guys.im going with setup1
     
  16. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^Try to get DDR3 RAM combo. It will be more future proof.
     
  17. hellknight

    hellknight BSD init pwns System V

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    atapi.sys as Stuxnet
    @ihatemyself.. you seriously need a dedicated 3D Graphics card such as FX Quadro or FireGL.. ask your friend to increase the budget by 10k and one hell of an awesome system will be created...
     
  18. comp@ddict

    comp@ddict EXIT: DATA Junkyard

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Athlon II X4 620 2.6GHz @ 6k
    Biostar A785G @ 3.6k
    Kingston 2X2GB DDR2 800MHz RAM @ 2.4k
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB @ 2.6k
    Logitech kbd/mouse combo @ 1k
    BenQ G2220HD @ 8.6k
    Zebronics Krish @ 1k
    Gigabyte 460W Active @ 2.5k

    Get:-
    Palit/Zotac 9800GT 512MB GDDR3 @ 6k
    or
    Sapphire HD4770 512MB GDDR5 Artic Cooling(non-reference) @ 7.4k

    Choice is yours, but both are EXCELLENT cards.....and don't go for a QUADRO...instead take the nVidia card and softmod it into a QUADRO..i'll even show you how if you want.
     
  19. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    ^^That doesn't work always.

    The following is taken from a post in gamespot:

    now there have always been softmod that you could do on a mainstream graphic card that can make it a workstation one like a geforce to quadro and a radeon 9800 to a firexl through freefirexl but you wouldnt see the perfromance increase and would be bugged continously by its drivers.these workstation cards offer features like occulsion culling,lossless depth z-buffer,line anti-alaising,accelarated clip region,clip planes.two sided lighting,opengl logic and overlay planes.a quadro for example can achieve 80 million lit and textured triangles per second fillrate.they also carry third generation vertex and pixel programibility.here is a qute from the manufacturers"Alias|Wavefront, Discreet, Softimage, and more. End users can take full advantage of the programmable NVIDIA Quadro FX architecture by enabling sophisticated real-time shaders to simulate a virtually unlimited range of physica l characteristics, such as lighting effects (fresnel effects, chromatic dispersion, reflection, refraction, BRDF models*, etc.) and even physical surface properties (such as casting effects, porosity, molded surfaces, etc.).

    http://www.techspot.com/vb/all/windows/t-23018-Graphic-Cards-Workstation-vs-Gaming.html
     
  20. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^Exactly. If it were that easy, then no one would buy Quadro/FireGL. Nice link desii. A very knowledgeable post by that guy.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page