2 DDR2 Ram speed mismatch?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by NaufalSalam2004, Jul 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NaufalSalam2004

    NaufalSalam2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    Hey Hi der guys.. New guy here.... i have a small Doubt...
    Can i use 533 DDR2 and 800 DDR2 Together? i have 2 -533 DDR2 ram in my mobo now.. and i have 2 more slots available. I'm planning to buy 1 GB more. but my vendor says that 533 speed ones are not available anymore.
    So i'm going to buy 1GB DDR2 Ram 800 from him(make-transcend).
    Will any problem pop up or smthin? Coz i heard that The higher speed one will lower its speed to the lower-speed DIMM,so. will it be ok? :?
    My Specs Are:
    C2D 6000Series 1.8Ghz,
    intel P965LT Mobo
    2x512 Mb DDR2 Ram (533),
    Asus GeForce 6200TC 256Mb
    2x250Gb Samsung Hdd
    DVD Writer.
     
  2. VarDOS

    VarDOS 15.0 GHz

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beside A Road
    nothing will happen, it will work f9, but if u put a 533MHz and a 800MHz sticks together the 800MHz stick will downflop to 533MHz and both will run @ 533MHz cuz the 533MHz stick will not overclock itself to 800mhz
     
  3. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It will work most of the time with the faster RAM running at the speed os the slower stick. But there are some cases where widely different types do not work well together. The only way to find out is to try.
     
  4. thetechfreak

    thetechfreak .

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,405
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    according to me nothing should happen...
     
  5. Techn0crat

    Techn0crat RPG FTW!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Varad Dilip Choudhari is right.
    but DDR2 RAM prices are very low,you can buy 2GB 800 MHz RAM and remove slower 533 MHz one.
    You can check Indian market prices here:
    http://theitwares.com/ram/ram.htm
     
  6. OP
    OP
    NaufalSalam2004

    NaufalSalam2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    thanks guys... u wer an awesome helpful lot... thing is i recently upgraded, and i somehow 4got abt the ram part... i want 800MHz.. so i'm giving the older ones off..
    Thanks for the help...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page