China vs India

chooza

Self Sufficient? India? Surely not. Maybe for agriculture, but not self sufficient for generating jobs for the educated for sure.
When every one want a "DECENT"job and no one is planning to enter business, from where in hell, the govt. will brig out the jobs? and remains are damped by so called reservation system.

As if Government has made it easy to start your own business. Red Tapism? Anyone?

^^Just pack up whenever you get an opportunity to enjoy great han culture for entire life. I am pretty sure that you will admire smooth wide roads and tall shiny infrastructure in China. Chicoms will appreciate another zerg addition and India will be happy too.

fieldgunner

Just like Pak's India fixation is holding them back from achieving anything, we should be careful not to develop a China fixation that prevents us from setting our own house in order...

@dips_view
Yeah they did it and they are doing it today also. More than ~50 million perished in China along with their culture (due to cultural revolution).

vaithy

@dips_view
In democratic Government every citizen share the burden of it success and failure including you and I.. But in the Authoritarian govt in Beijing only the the Selected Party officias had to accept the outcome of the decision they take.. rest are not relevant..

dips_view

"In democratic Government every citizen share the burden of it success and failure including you and I.. But in the Authoritarian govt in Beijing only the the Selected Party officias had to accept the outcome of the decision they take.. rest are not relevant.."
originally posted by vaithy

i agree with ur view on democracy. but how can u find da true democracy. democracy means FOR THE PEOPLE,BY THE PEOPLE, OF THE PEOPLE.and thats the motto of communism.yes everyone is equal in communist states. at least on theory.
In ur views china ruled by selected one. what about the us the democratic heaven.In there Democratically Elected Autocrats are responsible 4 killing millions?
do you want say majority in US wants war/or there views don't reflected in democratic environment.

chooza

for ur information .. once upon a time (pseudo) democratic country(u.s) used nuclear weapon to against another (pseudo) democratic country (japan) not once but twice.
US also threatened to use it again during 1) Korean war 2)Cuba 3)Vietnam 4)Soviet Union 5)Albania and a long list...:x

do you hear about Dr. Abdul Qadeer Khan?? Dr. Khan is a German-trained metallurgist.who brought with him knowledge of gas centrifuge technologies that he had acquired through his position at the classified URENCO uranium enrichment plant in the Netherlands. Dr. Khan also reportedly brought with him stolen uranium enrichment technologies from Europe. He was put in charge of building, equipping and operating Pakistan's Kahuta facility, which was established in 1976. Under Khan's direction, Pakistan employed an extensive clandestine network in order to obtain the necessary materials and technology for its developing uranium enrichment capabilities.
u dont need to believe me..please search Wikipedia and any authentic site of your choice....
may be CNN or CIA...
link: *www.cnn.com/2004/WORLD/asiapcf/02/04/pakistan.nuclear.timeline.reut/

and last .... communism does not believe in destiny.. it believes in people.. it believes in peoples democracy..:smile:
LIBERTY,EQUALITY,FRATERNITY FOR THE PEOPLE BY THE PEOPLE OF THE PEOPLE is the motto of communism.

When you talk about America's attack on Japan two times, it was only after Japan's attack on America in Pearl harbour, and also, at the end of WW II when all other countries which include Germany had surrendered, Japan not was not only reculant to stop war but increase attacks on US of A, So at that time, it was very important to stop Japan by any mean.

And when you say that communism believes in people, is that by killing old age people of country of forcing people to have number of child what govt want? and where is by the people? Their are only countries in world which believe in of the people, by the people, for the people. and these are India and US of A. Communism is any time worse then any system in world.

dips_view

dear chooza u r advocating for nuclear war.what can i say!!!but i still request please Google last days of second world war..
and communists kill old age peoples... please give me the source.anyway I can request to you please read the history of COMMUNISM.

nix

Both communism and democracy have their pros and cons. I've lived in India long enough to recognise the loopholes in the democratic setup. Communist china on the other hand, looks systematic and their politicians really do care about their country. their system looks better, from here atleast.

arvindravindranath

india will come on top eventually.....for three reasons
1.human rights
2.democracy
3.we don't have one child policy but a naturally decreasing fertility rate we'll still have enough labour for the next 50 years while the chinese are already greying
.......................but 4 now

99% of all products reviewed i in digit are "MADE IN CHINA"

I REST MY CASE.....................................................

nix

^plz don't cite their decreasing population as advantageous to us. its usless to have a large, uneducated and unemployed population. how do you think the western countries got ahead of india despite their relatively low populations? now don't say its because of immigration, they were far ahead even before that. high populations are bad for the working class, as wages get even lower. natural resources like food, water and air are becoming scarce, and hence getting expensive. farmlands are being acquired in the name of devlopment and industrialization. less farmland->less food->expensive food->blame->ourself, not USA. +farmers live in shockingly bad conditions causing them to commit suicide.

resources are limited, growth rate in india is unsustainable. the situation is quite bleak right now, there are too many doctors, engineers, MBA's.

our population is not decreasing, its expected to surpass china's population soon. china is almost three times bigger than india.

arvindravindranath

^plz don't cite their decreasing population as advantageous to us. its usless to have a large, uneducated and unemployed population. how do you think the western countries got ahead of india despite their relatively low populations? now don't say its because of immigration, they were far ahead even before that. high populations are bad for the working class, as wages get even lower. natural resources like food, water and air are becoming scarce, and hence getting expensive. farmlands are being acquired in the name of devlopment and industrialization. less farmland->less food->expensive food->blame->ourself, not USA. +farmers live in shockingly bad conditions causing them to commit suicide.

resources are limited, growth rate in india is unsustainable. the situation is quite bleak right now, there are too many doctors, engineers, MBA's.

our population is not decreasing, its expected to surpass china's population soon. china is almost three times bigger than india.

nix..........

yes i agree a large uneducated population doesn't mean much and will only be a burden in the years to come......
but just to reiterate my point the japanese,germans,singaporeans, most europenan countries,Russia even are suffering from one of the worst fertility rates crises in their history the japanese population is to fall from 120 million now o 80 million in 2050 and the german population is to fall from 80million now to 67 million in 2050...the russians lose 8 lac people every year.......but none of them are getting any richer....in fact their growth was stagnant even before the recession with the japanese economy suffering through a deflationary period and continuous negative growth throughout the 90's and early 00's the russians grew only because of their oil

the chinese just like us unfortunately consider a girl child a burden and thanks to their one child policy stop after having a son or go to lengths such as abortion or foeticide to rid themselves of girls as a result the sex ratio has fallen below even our country for new borns

the chinese still have a very high gini index(a mesurement of income equality,the lower the better) of 46.9 but we have only 36.8 none of the ecenomic "growth" is trickling to the poor people and they work in factories which are almost like slave labour camps this is only because of the iron grip of the communist govt if this grip loosens even a bit there is bound to be social unrest

and please don't give me that crap that we have too many doctors or too many mbas
i;m sorry if your job is lost because of the recession but that is just not true
hospitals in the rural areas still are empty because of lack of doctors mbas still get top dollar in the job market and none of our engineers actually end up being engineers in the job market

shocking facts: the whole country has juat 700 nephrologists and 3500 psychiatrists
in the WHOLE COUNTRY! google it if you don't believe me

indians can beat chinese in numerous fields be it english,innovation entrepreneurship and our inherentability for "jugaad" bringing up a private company in china is one of the most difficult things to do and the chinese are notorious for intellectual property thefts which is why global automobile majors are now investing here instead of there india just recently just pipped china in auto exports

the point i'm trying to make is that india does still has its share of problems thats why is said "eventually" .investment over time will help raise wages and it will improve living conditions of the poor. new irrigation projects will help improve farm productivity but everything will take time

nix

^ its not all about the money. think about resources, niether do we recycle, nor do we conserve. think about all the farmland that is being bought over for residential or commerical pourposes. the population is increasing, food and other resources are decreasing. worst hit by india's industrialization are farmers. they are given a pittance for their land by industrialists who make hundreds of crores.

why do they need so much land? do they use all of? yes, but mostly for lawns and fountains.

the newspapers tell you why a growing population is good, but they dont tell why it can be bad.

in western countries, the quality of life is better, for everybody. even a construction worker or a taxi driver can live a comfortable life, thats why many indians become taxi drivers there. the same cannot be said of india. that is where population can make a difference.

when you point out that countries like japan have had stagnant growth rate, you dont take in account, the fact that japan grew long before we did. so now, they already have all the factories and stuff that we are getting just now. most of their population is empolyed, unlike here. again, you have to consider the quality of life.

you say nobody wants to go and work in villages, well that coz our govt cannot provide necessary facilities in rural areas. no electricity, no roads etc... that is where we get our food from, but yet, they are the most neglected.

you say india has had a good growth rate, if india was all that good, why do we still see thousands of our youth going away to USA, UK etc..? because the quality of life is better. why is that? because of demand for engineers. why is that? because of low population and good living conditions. young people there do not want to learn something difficult like math coz they dont have to. they can become sales executives and still live a comfortable life.

but we dont have a choice. we do what people say is "paying". but they, they do what they want to do. thats precisely the reason why, they have a few engineers who are way smarter than most our engineers.

they do something coz they want to do it. we do it coz we need to do it.

p_dude

^ its not all about the money. think about resources, niether do we recycle, nor do we conserve. think about all the farmland that is being bought over for residential or commerical pourposes. the population is increasing, food and other resources are decreasing. worst hit by india's industrialization are farmers. they are given a pittance for their land by industrialists who make hundreds of crores.

why do they need so much land? do they use all of? yes, but mostly for lawns and fountains.

the newspapers tell you why a growing population is good, but they dont tell why it can be bad.

in western countries, the quality of life is better, for everybody. even a construction worker or a taxi driver can live a comfortable life, thats why many indians become taxi drivers there. the same cannot be said of india. that is where population can make a difference.

when you point out that countries like japan have had stagnant growth rate, you dont take in account, the fact that japan grew long before we did. so now, they already have all the factories and stuff that we are getting just now. most of their population is empolyed, unlike here. again, you have to consider the quality of life.

you say nobody wants to go and work in villages, well that coz our govt cannot provide necessary facilities in rural areas. no electricity, no roads etc... that is where we get our food from, but yet, they are the most neglected.

you say india has had a good growth rate, if india was all that good, why do we still see thousands of our youth going away to USA, UK etc..? because the quality of life is better. why is that? because of demand for engineers. why is that? because of low population and good living conditions. young people there do not want to learn something difficult like math coz they dont have to. they can become sales executives and still live a comfortable life.

but we dont have a choice. we do what people say is "paying". but they, they do what they want to do. thats precisely the reason why, they have a few engineers who are way smarter than most our engineers.

i may not agree totally on some of your previous posts nix
but what you have said now is very true

arvindravindranath

nix.....you seem to be pretty concerned about farmland and food shortages i can see......now for a few facts....55% of india's land is arable and we have the second largest cultivable area after the US but we still suffer from food shortages including the infamous sugar shortage now but this is not because of overpopulation but instead it is because of poor farm productivity

japan has a population density of 330/sq ft india has a population density of 303/sq ft with most of the japanese land going to industry and cities and the rest to mountains they are still self sufficient in rice and even have a small surplus every year which is exported to africa at a discount they are also self sufficient in onions cabbages and a few other vegetables despite the very negligible land available for agriculture

why?

this is because unlike our country where there is rampant fertilizer shortage and skewed fertilizer policy the japanese intensively cultivate their land making maximum use of it they use both macro and micro nutrient fertilizers unlike the only macro nutrient fertilizers give by our government this results in productivity of over 1200 tonnes/hectare while our productivity is around 150-200 tonnes per hectare and 300-350 in punjab the main culprit is unavailability of fertilizers and irrigation only25% of our land is irrigated and even then we are almost self sufficient in food grains 40% of our food production goes to waste because of inadequate storage facilities .with proper irrigation and fertilizer application on even 50% of the cultivated land we'll have plenty for export.

the western countries got rich in the first place only because of one reason namely "COLONIALISM"
they had made many scientific advances and thus the industrial revolution began in europe this according to me was the turning point in the world's history
europeans with their new factory built guns and cannons invaded asia africa and the americas and looted us of our wealth....india was among the richest countries in the world those days the europeans looted our wealth,took it home ,and made themselves rich and when an economy starts with a high base it doesn't come down so easily

however japan and china's example here is interesting japan after the second world war benefited from a clause in its constitution which forbade it to declare war on other countries and under american occupation they weren't able to invest much in their military so all money went to investment in industry japanese engineers in the US who were discriminated against returned home and there was a determined effort to reclaim japan's honour which had been lost during the war the founders of nintendo,sony and toyota all studied in the us at some point of their lives ps:(satoru iwata who steered nintendo from toys to video games was the one who studies in the US he "founded" the nintendo we know today)

china on the other hand began its industrial liberalization only in 1972 after which under deng xiaoping the government made use of china's biggest asset its vast labour force and factories started opening along with construction of roads,bridges,ports etc
india started this process only 19 years on.....but the same is happening here,that too without a determined effort by the government but one by entrepreneurs just imagine what would happen if both worked in tandem!

i once again reiterate my point about skilled labour which is in shortage in this country agreed that people don't want to work in the rural areas but even in the cities you have to go the hospital only when the doctor is available
our per capita doctor availabilty is even lower than pakistan!!!

i would love write another passage on the engineers part but i'm really sleepy now so maybe tomorrow......