Nvidia GTX 460 Discussion

Discussion in 'Graphic cards' started by mukherjee, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. mukherjee

    mukherjee Treatment in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Amar shohor Kolkata
    Hi friends, I am back after a long hiatus. Attending to patients is taking up the major share of my time nowadays.

    And mods,please forgive me for starting a new thread....I jus had to start one.

    Well, its been 2 years since I bought the Palit Radeon HD 4850 512 MB card,and its served me well over all this time...and frankly,I was eyeing the HD5000 series for quite sometime now....but prices remained rock steady over the months....and along came the Nvidia GTX 460!

    Well,I just bought a Palit Nvidia GTX 460 1GB Sonic card from MD Computers in Kolkata, for around 14.9k (yes,I know i paid abt 1k premium :cry: ,but I got the card within 1 week of launch!! :cool: )

    Lets see some pics....shall we? :twisted:

    1. The Front of the pack

    [​IMG]




    2. The back of the pack

    [​IMG]




    3. The card front

    [​IMG]




    4. The card back

    [​IMG]




    5. The outputs

    [​IMG]




    6. The VRM side

    [​IMG]




    7. The GPU Voltage Regulator OnSemi NCP 5395T

    [​IMG]



    8. The Fermi GF104 is visible,isnt it?

    [​IMG]




    9. The memory Samsung K4G10325FE-HC05 chips (8 total) rated @0.5ns

    [​IMG]




    10. The GPUZ info screen shader count is reported wrongly....for now

    [​IMG]




    11. The GPUZ temps...The card appears cool....and the fan isnt audible at idle speed

    [​IMG]




    12. Lastly, a GPU Caps screenie

    [​IMG]




    I'll be back with benchmark results later....

    Guys...please keep this thread lively....
     
  2. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    What are your memory temperatures. They seem passively cooled..?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mukherjee

    mukherjee Treatment in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Amar shohor Kolkata
    Yes,u noted right...but how to measure the memory temps? Any idea? :eek:

    Also,which is a better indicator of load temps..... Furmark or MSI Kombustor??
     
  4. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,249
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
    @mukherjee, congrats buddy. 1k premium but you got no carry charge & as you got it locally, if some problem arises you can directly contact them.

    but 1 bad thing i seen in this Palit card is the panel. it got too less exhaust holes. so have a good cooling (ventilation) inside cabby else heat may rise up.
     
  5. himadri_sm

    himadri_sm Mad Eyed Llama

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    if there is any way to measure power consumption...can you tell me your idle & peak power usage?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    mukherjee

    mukherjee Treatment in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Amar shohor Kolkata
    Thanks buddy....Yes,support...thats more important to me than price...isnt it?
    Yes,the vent's a bit of a problem...but worry not,my case ventilation is optimized,by 2 80mm fans and a CM 120mm fan :D !!

    Well,I dunno how to :(
    Suggestions?


    Well,here are a few benchmarks....

    1. Unigine Heaven 2.1

    [​IMG]



    2. Crysis : Settings : High @1600*900 16xAF 4xAA

    [​IMG]



    3. 3DMark 2006 @1600*900 16xAF 8xAA

    [​IMG]



    4. 3DMark Vantage : Entry preset (w/o feature tests as it wont run in my pc due to resolution constraints :cry: )

    [​IMG]




    5. 3DMark Vantage : Perfomance present (theres no P score as it has been run at 1600*900,and P cant be given below 1280*1024 :cry: best I cud do)


    [​IMG]

    Comments please
     
  7. OP
    OP
    mukherjee

    mukherjee Treatment in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Amar shohor Kolkata
    Kombustor after 10mins run with temps

    [​IMG]
     
  8. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,249
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
    thats a very important factor. well one have to send the card for RMA if something goes wrong still a exchange can be made in case the bundle turns out bad or the card is defective.

    than that shouldn't cause any problem. 1X120mm fan opposite PCIe slot & a 80mm fan under the PSU (if its top placed) will provide all the necessary ventilation.

    BTW, i'll suggest change the PSU. GTX460 maybe cool running but is also a heavy on power card. invest in a Corsair VX450W. just a fraction of the price of the card to ensure its safety.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    mukherjee

    mukherjee Treatment in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Amar shohor Kolkata
    Friends, I have tried my hand a bit on overclocking....
    Upped 50Mhz each on the Core and Memory to get 750 Core 1500 Shaders 1850(3700) Memory

    Results of temp:

    [​IMG]

    ---------- Post added at 08:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:27 PM ----------

    Well, I used my UPS monitoring software to get a rough idea.
    My UPS is 600VA rated...thats roughly 360 Watts AC(taking power factor as 0.6 worst case).

    At idle,the load shows as 40%,thats a about 144 Watts.

    At full throttle,the load comes up as 80%,thats about 288 Watts.

    There,a rough idea of the power consumption.

    @ All, do I really need to change my PSU?
    What shud I go for? VX 450/VX 550/CM GX 550/Seasonic S12L 500 ????
     
  10. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    You should be able to see temperatures using GPU-Z, RivaTuner(singular or via the GPU Monitor Gadget which integrates to Riva Tune), or Everest Lavalys (via the Everest Gadget). Below is a screen shot.

    Not really. One can estimate using various online calculators, or install a device between the wall socket and PSU/UPS socket top. Something like a Kill-o-Watt easily available on eBay.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,573
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    ^^ GPU-Z don't show memory temps for nvidia cards. As far as I know their is no way to test memory temp of nvidia cards using some software - only some infrared temp sensor can be used to measure that temp on a open bench.

    @ mukherjee - 1st of all hearty congrats for that nice purchase and thanks for the detailed pics and benchmarks :

    I was a little bit surprised though pleased to see that this card is running on a CM extreme 500W - are you planing to buy a new PSU - if so a Corsair VX450W would be enough for your present rig.

    From the pics you've posted it's seems like it has the same MOSFET/VRM heatsink missing issue .

    This article can be found in here

    Compare this pic with the pic no 6 your post ( they have removed the two pictures from that news article which reveals the compariosn )

    your pic :

    [​IMG]

    The review pic

    [​IMG]

    Look at the solid states capacitors at the left side and you will see some mosfet heatsink there.
     
  12. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^
    Even Riva will not..? Think nTune can. I used to able to be on my 8500GT.
     
  13. Piyush

    Piyush Lanaya

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NCR
    the card looks deadly
    even the benchmark result is quite good
    temp readings are fine too
     
  14. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,573
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    @ asigh - thanks for the info. I think ntune is a bulky piece of software though for OPs mobo and gfx card combo it may be suitable and Op should give ntune a try to see if it can display the mem temp of his GTx460.
     
  15. Piyush

    Piyush Lanaya

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NCR
    this card looks a lil bit like ASUS ARES
     
  16. rajan1311

    rajan1311 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    most(if not all) of the GTX 460 cards dont have any Memory Heatsinks...but even the clocks are pretty low as compared to ATI cards...
     
  17. OP
    OP
    mukherjee

    mukherjee Treatment in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Amar shohor Kolkata
    Well, u are talking about the Sonic Platinum Edition cards,mine is only Sonic edition.

    Thanks!

    Here u go then...no option even for mem temps :(

    [​IMG]

    Thats pushing things a bit too far I guess :p

    +1 on that
     
  18. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,573
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    ^^ all palit GTX 460 cards looks almost exactly the same so they should have provided those mosfet coolers on all cards as well :p

    a strange thing is plait is not show interested in showing the clock speed differences on their website - there's no details about clock speeds in specs for any GTX460 in the website.

    well I will look for programs which can show mem temps for nvidia gfx card and let you know.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2010
  19. OP
    OP
    mukherjee

    mukherjee Treatment in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Amar shohor Kolkata
    Friends, I hv decided to buy a new PSU at last.
    Keeping an eye to the future,it will be 550W at least.

    I have two options : Cooler Master GX550 @ 4.7k

    or Corsair VX550W @ 5.1k.

    Which one shud I choose?

    Any naysayers, have a look at this
    Updated Palit GTX 460 Sonic Platinum results
     
  20. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,249
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
    ^^ if you can afford Corsair VX550W, i see no reason think about Cooler Master.
     

Share This Page