** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA **

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by PrinceHeart, Jul 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrinceHeart

    PrinceHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fantasy Island on a Parallel Universe
    Hello to all,

    Opening this new thread regarding the working and non-working programs/softwares with Windows VISTA Beta 2. Whoever is using this beta release is asked to share their information on what programs/softwares works and doesn't work with their copy of the beta OS.

    Please remember - this thread is NOT about the list of features about the beta version, ONLY the programs/softwares which can be / cannot be run on this OS, with any issues/malfunctions.

    Starting with mine.. as i have posted in another thread here:

    Working:
    =======
    Java 2 Runtime Environment 1.5.0. Update 6
    KLite Mega Codec 1.53
    mIRC 6.17
    Nero 6.6.0.16
    Winamp 5.21 FULL
    Windows LIVE Messenger 8.0 build 8.0.0792.00
    Yahoo Messenger 7 Build 0437
    2007 Microsoft Office system Beta 2


    NOT Working (Not compatible/Doesn't Install/Don't work after Install):
    ====================================================
    McAfee VirusScan Professional Edition 7.03 Retail
    Mcafee VirusScan Professional Edition 2006
    Acrobat Reader 7.07
    ImageResizer Powertoy Setup
    TuneUp Utilities 2006 5.0.2331
    ymsgr8us (8 beta)
    ymsgr75us (7.5)
    Download Accelerator Plus 8.0.4.1
    LimeWire Pro 4.12.0/4.12.3

    Now lets see what others are working on....

    Installed today:
    Windows Vista x86 Beta 2 ForceWare Release 85 88.61 May 23, 2006 (working)
    Yahoo Messenger 8 Beta installs well.. starts well. when i signin, it hangs up and windows error reporting comes up, so i got rid of it and installed Yahoo Messenger 7.5 instead.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2006
  2. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    There u go ... will keep it updated ...
     
  3. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    Creative vibra 128 digital sound card drivers don't work ... plz help i have no sound in vista ..
     
  4. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    Working:
    Pixelview 8.01 Tv tuner drivers(barely)
    Logitech setpoint 2.6
    Azureus 2.4.0.2 ( ? resume with shared incomplete downloads witht he XP counter part upon reboot) minus Aero

    Not working:
    features of Asus A8N SLI Prem(1302) onboard Audio. like volume controls for line in etc.

    will keep adding more here...
     
  5. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    Just a note, Avast! works on vista beta 2.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    PrinceHeart

    PrinceHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fantasy Island on a Parallel Universe
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    hemant_mathur: You have selected Vibra 128. Please note that the product you have selected has been classified as "End of Service Life".

    Browse for your creative drivers for vista beta 2, chart updated regularly. If drivers not found for your hardware, keep checking:

    http://dmzweb3.europe.creative.com/...VARSET=ws:http://asia.creative.com,case=14186

    Rollercoaster: Keep checking on the following site for updates,
    http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us

    cheerz
     
  7. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    try the KX drivers .. those should work ...
     
  8. OP
    OP
    PrinceHeart

    PrinceHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fantasy Island on a Parallel Universe
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    Comeon Everyone !!

    No one wanna share what programs/softwares they are using with their Windows Vista Beta 2 OS ??

    Working:
    =======
    Winrar 3.30
    GoogleEarth 3.0.0762
    DVDRegionFree5.9.7.9
    VirtualDub-1.6.15
    CyberLink PowerDVD 7
    NeroVision Express 3.1.0.0d
    MiniLyrics 4.3.2195 for Winamp
    PowerFX202 Sound Enhancer for Winamp

    NOT Working (Not compatible/Doesn't Install/Don't work after Install):
    ====================================================
    Seagate DiscWizard for Windows V4.09.05
    PerfectDisk 7.0 Build 46
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2006
  9. killerinstinct2

    killerinstinct2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    do anyone has the driver software for ethernet .........realtek company for vista
     
  10. OP
    OP
    PrinceHeart

    PrinceHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fantasy Island on a Parallel Universe
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    Try the realtek drivers i got in my vista
    Download from below(1 file scanned with Mcafee VirusScan)

    or try this site to get drivers for realtek:
    http://www.station-drivers.com/page/realtek.htm

    Hope this works

    peace
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2006
  11. Brave_Hunt

    Brave_Hunt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Galaxy!
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    killerinstinct2, Click HERE to get the answer of your question/request.;)

    Enjoy
     
  12. OP
    OP
    PrinceHeart

    PrinceHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fantasy Island on a Parallel Universe
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    I would like to point this out that this thread is about "Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2". Asking all users of Windows Vista Beta 2 to type in their experiences on what's working and what's not in this new operating system, so it may help other users as well.

    For requesting drivers use:

    Software Troubleshooting:
    Issues related with your OS, applications, system security, configuration of network, browsers, customizations, driver support, tweaking, audio-video playback problems and programming can be discussed here.

    peace
     
  13. Brave_Hunt

    Brave_Hunt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Galaxy!
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    Well driver(s) are software also so there's no problem to help people about it. Isn't It good that people will get all their Vista related answers just in one thread?;)

    Enjoy

    P.S. And by the way couldn't understand what's your point is?
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2006
  14. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    Working:
    Firefox 1.5.0.4
    Opera
    real player 10.5
    Not working:
    nero 7
    yahoo msngr 7 has minor problem in my case.
     
  15. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    Games working :Oblivion , Far Cry , Timeshift , Hitman Blood Money , FEAR , Condemned : Criminal Origins , .. didn't have the time to try anything else ... though my personal recommendation would be to stay away from games for now in Vista. ...
     
  16. killerinstinct2

    killerinstinct2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    i didn't understand that file....wht do i do with the .sys file

    and if u can give soundmax driver software for vista beta to manual update.....thx

    hey done nyone has soundmax driver software and realtek ethernet driver software link.....pm to me............plz........................
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2006
  17. OP
    OP
    PrinceHeart

    PrinceHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fantasy Island on a Parallel Universe
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    Sorry for the earlier post,
    This should help. I got this driver in my WinXP and when i install Vista, the driver for the LAN card were auto-configurated into it. Download the file below, if u need my driver Or click here to download it from microsoft.

    http://www.windowsmarketplace.com/prices.aspx?itemId=1186271&stext=
    Realtek RTL Gigabit and Fast Ethernet NIC Driver (Windows 98/Me/2000/XP)
    by Realtek Semiconductor
    Drivers for RTL8139/810x/8169/8110 series. Windows Logo Certification Drivers for OEM manufacturer. Version 6.41 may include unspecified updates, enhancements, or bug fixes.

    Regarding soundmax.. i think its onboard with the motherboard. What's your motherboard no. and company make ?

    I have Intel 865GBF and vista didn't auto-configured it. I had to use the motherboard CD and install the sound drivers from there and after a restarted, everything worked out for me. Try the motherboard CD or try
    http://www.windowsmarketplace.com/ to search for your drivers.
    If your motherboard is Intel - try http://www.intel.com/ and choose your motherboard no. and search for soundmax.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2006
  18. killerinstinct2

    killerinstinct2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **



    did u upgrade ur version xp to vista .or u partioned the xp and vista..????????


    i had partioned xp and vista ..............dual boot system............it didn't auto configured........

    i got it from intex ............no prob now.........thx for all u r support guys.........
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2006
  19. OP
    OP
    PrinceHeart

    PrinceHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fantasy Island on a Parallel Universe
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    I use dual-boot - winXP pro in 1 HDD and WinVista in the 2nd HDD. And it auto-configured. Dunno why it didn't in ur case. But now .. looks like u got the drivers. ^5 :)

    peace

    Thx for the recommendation - But i ignored it ;)
    and installed Freelancer 1.0
    It installed in 2:43 mins.
    Startup intro didn't work. Tried to play it manually in WMP11. It got stucked and had audio-video sync problems.
    But anyway I started the game. And wow .. being almost more than 2 years i last played that game. So i played it and now at level 7. I LOVE THIS GAME !!!
    I went to settings and use FULL audio settings and FULL video settings. Its working like a babyyyy ....

    cheerz
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2006
  20. killerinstinct2

    killerinstinct2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: ** Working/Not-Working Programs with VISTA BETA 2 **

    hey did u hv any codecs for vista to download for wm 11
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page