Wireless Wifi router/modem for home use with PC, Laptop, Mobile Buying suggestion

Skyh3ck

Cyborg Agent
Hi Friends

i will be getting a new broadband internet connection from cable operator in my area. he will be setting up the connection in my house after a week,

i want to use this internet connection in Desktop PC, Laptop, Mobile phones without any wires so i am thinking to create a wifi zone in my area where i can connect all the hardware with password.

i have never done this before, please suggest me the best wifi router or modem for this purpose.

Can i set up wifi without any help of the service provider engineer ?

my budget is very less 1k to 2k

thanks in advance

whitestar_999

Super Moderator
Staff member
if you can install windows then with some reading of various online guides or watching youtube videos you should be able to do it without any professional assistance.check out TP-LINK TL-WR841N for ~1500.wifi modem is needed for broadband connection using telephone line(bsnl,mtnl,airtel & reliance).

OP
Skyh3ck

Skyh3ck

Cyborg Agent
what i want to do is, i want to plug the internet cable to the wifi router, and connect all other hardware like mobile, laptop wirelessly with the router, i want something like that, so i just have to keep the wifi router on, and whenever i want to surf the net i can connect my mobile or laptop from any corner of the room

mitraark

Decrepit
I own the TPLink WR841 router,and I'd suggest you rather buy the cheaper WR740

Its Rs 875 on Flipkart currently, much lower than the street price.

Can you mention what your ISP is? Are you from Kolkata?

mitraark

Decrepit
I'm quite certain you can install the router by yourself, a friend of mine was asked to cough up Rs 550 for installation which is absurd for something which can be done in 5 minutes.

There's a thread on how to set up Wi FI router with cable broadband in this section, you might find that helpful.

OP
Skyh3ck

Skyh3ck

Cyborg Agent