WinXP Pro- Blue Screen- STOP Error

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by mark, Oct 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mark

    mark New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Sometimes in the middle of nowhere while connected to internet, with yahoo messenger , IE6 etc the blue screen appears with a STOP error and the system resets. What exactly can be the problem?...Please help me

    Mark
     
  2. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - if ur able to log back into xp . check ur event viewer in admin tools -> control panel . the error msg will be listed , just copy and paste it here .
    - i usually had paging errors , run chkdsk on drive
    - write down ur pc specifications and s/w u loaded recently
     
  3. sr_ultimate

    sr_ultimate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Suspense
    Check Spyware , Virus everything !! Cause I had the same problem i came to know that it had virus !! And I think Blaster worm restarts the PC
     
  4. xenkatesh

    xenkatesh Bewitched!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Use SPYBOT!
     
  5. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Check the event logs,a nd post the error here.
     
  6. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    post ur hikack this log here so that techies can help u !!!
     
  7. OP
    OP
    mark

    mark New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi!,
    In event viewer it shows the following:

    Under source heading:True Vector Engine
    Following is the description:

    The description for Event ID ( 1 ) in Source ( True Vector Engine ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event.

    0000: 46 69 6c 65 20 22 43 3a File "C:
    0008: 5c 57 49 4e 44 4f 57 53 \WINDOWS
    0010: 5c 49 6e 74 65 72 6e 65 \Interne
    0018: 74 20 4c 6f 67 73 5c 5c t Logs\\
    0020: 4e 56 4b 2e 6c 64 62 22 mkv.ldb"
    0028: 20 77 61 73 20 63 6f 72 was cor
    0030: 72 75 70 74 20 61 6e 64 rupt and
    0038: 20 68 61 73 20 62 65 65 has bee
    0040: 6e 20 64 65 6c 65 74 65 n delete
    0048: 64 2e 00 d..

    Thanks a lot
    Mark
     
  8. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    by any chance did u install/uninstall or delete zone alarm ?? if u have zone alarm try removing it , run xp for sometime and reinstall it or get updated version of zone alarm
     
  9. OP
    OP
    mark

    mark New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah Klinux,

    I have ZoneAlarm on my PC. The specs of my system are as under:
    P42.8HT/D865GBF Chipset-Intel
    WinXP Po
    GeForce4 MX/MMX440 64 MB Graphics card
    512 MB DDR
    80GB HDD

    Mark
     
  10. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    Check for viruses and ad wares
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page