Windows Xp & 98 installing problem

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by aditya169, Feb 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aditya169

    aditya169 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys,

    can you guys help mw, I had a p-3 computer which had some problem , so my hardware gave me a stand by Pc , the problem that this would not boot, I formatted my hdd and tried to install win 98 se , but the setup wizard hangs, after performing the scans for errors when it loads the wizard it hangs. The 98 se cd is perfectly ok.

    so I thought of installing win xp instead, so again I formatted & re partioned the hdd , to install win xp , the setup wizard completed but at the first boot time the system hangs.


    please tell me what to do , i live at dehradun and my hardware guy is in delhi , so i cant send the pc back to him.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    aditya169

    aditya169 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cant any one help !!!!?
     
  3. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    He might had give u a bad HD(corrupted) so return back it.......And ask him another......
     
  4. OP
    OP
    aditya169

    aditya169 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the hdd is fine
     
  5. readermaniax

    readermaniax New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is surely some problem with the cd drive .
     
  6. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Well the problem is definitely in the hardware. Try the following.
    1. Open bios - revert to default settings.
    2. If you can and know how, then try to remove all non essential hardware from the cpu - agp, pci cards, cdrom etc
    3. IF it still doesn't work try running a memory test www.memtest86.com/ - to check errors on the ram

    btw exactly where does the system hangs?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    aditya169

    aditya169 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i formatted and repartioned the hdd , windows still hang at start up.
    ie the first time windows boots after installing xp.

    is it motherboards problem?
     
  8. g_goyal2000

    g_goyal2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Delhi
    A friend of mine faced the same problem.
    U have a RAM problem.
    Check if u'r RAM has got fungus or moisture.
    Put it in sunlight for sometime. All the moisture will go away. Try again.
    Also, disassemble u'r PC & assemble it again from beginning. Probably some part is fit incorrectly.

    But I still suggest check u'r RAM.
    Windows not booting up is mainly due to RAM problem.
     
  9. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
    usually itz with a bad cd or a bad cd drive- especially those from samsung
     
  10. Vyasram

    Vyasram The pWnster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Karaikudi,TN
    usually itz with a bad cd or a bad cd drive- especially those from samsung . is ur cd drive samsung
     
  11. thadhanihemant

    thadhanihemant New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    take out the ram and then rub it with a eraser

    reset the cmos battery
    reset the hdd and cdrom cables
     
  12. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....

    take out the ram and then rub it with a eraser what is this???? :oops:
     
  13. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H

    yes right ram is the culprit clean the ram with the tooth brush make sure that
    toothbrush is not wet and the ram slot also
     
  14. OP
    OP
    aditya169

    aditya169 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi i took out the ram and then rubed it with a eraser :D

    reseted the cmos battery too
    removed the hdd and cdrom cables and kept em back 2.

    AND GUSS WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    it still did'nt work. :D
     
  15. The Incredible

    The Incredible New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Incredible
    i dunno the exact problem but me too think that RAM is the culprit. try it replacing. if u can arrange it from sumwhere. it may b this.

    btw u can also try low-level formatting of ur hdd if u can , better take it to a nearby hardware center.
     
  16. raval_manoj

    raval_manoj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mangrol (Gujarat)
    Try this:-

    --> Boot from CD
    --> Run scandisk thoroughly from command prompt - with complete surface test
    --> After this copy win98 folder from cd to hdd (to C drive or on other partition)
    --> From that folder run setup of Win98
     
  17. nach p

    nach p New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mUMBAI
    Sometimes layer of carbon formed on the both side of Ram (which we insert in the slot).Is there any long beep is coming then I will surely tell u to retry to rub it .Still doesnt work then bye bye to ram.
    i think you may have motherboard problem.Just contact u r hardware vendor for the problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page