Windows 7: Explorer.exe crashing too frequently

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by vineetrocks2005, Nov 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vineetrocks2005

    vineetrocks2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    Hi...

    I have Windows 7 Ultimate installed on my computer. It is working fine, but whenever I right click on any folder the menu is not shown and cursor remains in loading state and after some time the explorer crashes.

    Here is the event log

    - Provider

    [ Name] Application Hang

    - EventID 1002

    [ Qualifiers] 0

    Level 2

    Task 101

    Keywords 0x80000000000000

    - TimeCreated

    [ SystemTime] 2009-11-20T05:00:48.000000000Z

    EventRecordID 2253

    Channel Application


    Security


    - EventData

    explorer.exe
    6.1.7600.16404
    1154
    01ca699e2f423fde
    0
    C:\Windows\explorer.exe
    a5e22a67-d591-11de-b576-002219df62bc
    430072006F00730073002D00740068007200650061006400000044006500610064006C006F0063006B0000000000


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Binary data:


    In Words

    0000: 00720043 0073006F 002D0073 00680074
    0008: 00650072 00640061 00440000 00610065
    0010: 006C0064 0063006F 0000006B 0000


    In Bytes

    0000: 43 00 72 00 6F 00 73 00 C.r.o.s.
    0008: 73 00 2D 00 74 00 68 00 s.-.t.h.
    0010: 72 00 65 00 61 00 64 00 r.e.a.d.
    0018: 00 00 44 00 65 00 61 00 ..D.e.a.
    0020: 64 00 6C 00 6F 00 63 00 d.l.o.c.
    0028: 6B 00 00 00 00 00 k.....


    Please help...Thank You
     
  2. rohanmathew

    rohanmathew Reader of Trust 2009

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    download the ShellExView app from NirSoft (freeware) and start disabling all Adobe-related and non-essential Extensions. Check if this works.

    -------------------------------------------------------------
    Suggestions are based on reference.Pls feel free to comment.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    vineetrocks2005

    vineetrocks2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    I already tried that but the problem still persists
     
  4. rohanmathew

    rohanmathew Reader of Trust 2009

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    May be some 3rd party programs like antivirus,AVG in particular,then right click options from 3rd party softwares cause these problems.You can try a system restore of the time before you have installed such applications.
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    Hope u have got all the basic system requirements of WINDOWS SEVEN.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2009
  5. CA50

    CA50 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    GraveYard
    some link in the shell menu is either missing or corrupted, better check it with TU2009/2010 or install windows 7 manager.
     
  6. rohanmathew

    rohanmathew Reader of Trust 2009

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    IF all that fails go for seven repair using the DVD.
     
  7. dreams

    dreams Gracias Senor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Heven & Hell
    The same issue happened to me in Win 7 RC. I knew, some software which adds their menu in the right click is creating this issue. So, to identify it, went to msconfig, disabled all the 3rd party softwares which adds their menu in the right click.
    Luckily, I was able to sense which software was creating the problem. So, unchecking it nd restarting my lappy fixed the issue. Once rebooted, removed that application.
    I believe I checked with ShellExView for Adobe issues. Nothing worked, since Adobe doesnt include any menu in the right click.
     
  8. vijayyy2007

    vijayyy2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude Did u installed Klite codec pack??. ....i had this problem in windows 7 whenever i right click Explorer Crashes. i just reinstalled Klite pack, then everything fine now...just try it and let us know the problem solved
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page