WIFI network with BSNL router

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by izzikio_rage, Sep 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. izzikio_rage

    izzikio_rage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    out of phase with this dimension
    Hey everyone is there anyway to make a wifi network with the router given with BSNL broadband connection ie some way to allow only some pc's to access the internet connection but allow others to connect to the LAN only. I have the Nokia wifi router
     
  2. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use MAC filtering in your router config. Only add the MAC addresses of the machines you want to connect via wireless. All the rest can only haf the wired connection then. But you need to know that the restriction applies only to the wireless connection and not the wired. Any machine can then be connected via wired connection.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    izzikio_rage

    izzikio_rage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    out of phase with this dimension
    thanks dude....will give it a go....
     
  4. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    u dont rely on password protecting ur wifi....?

    Enjoy~!
     
  5. Aspire

    Aspire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just secure it using a password and give the passwords to those PCs which you want net on
     
  6. OP
    OP
    izzikio_rage

    izzikio_rage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    out of phase with this dimension
    I have given a password .....but the idea is to have a password for net access ...the lan access should be free.....will try out that mac adress thing this weekend....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page