Which antivirus for my not so new desktop?

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by speedyguy, Sep 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    i have a 2004 purchased system, my rig is

    p4 1.8, 512mb ddr,
    intel 845gv chipset,
    ati radeon 9200SE AGP 128mb

    m planning to purchase an antivirus as m done wit formatting everytime coz of these spywares n trojans.... kindly suggest me an app which wud run well but light on my system.
    thanx,

    Enjoy~!
     
  2. thewisecrab

    thewisecrab AFK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    nod32 v2.7 :)
     
  3. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Simply go for Free and Lightweight AVG. Its gr8...!! Try it..!!
     
  4. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    AVG8 is not lightweight.
    His 512MB RAM pc would be sucked if any scans run.

    Go for Avira/Bit Defender...NOD32 would also be a good choice.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    ryt now m using avg free....n yes it does slow down d system while running regular scans....plus i dint find it effective with hardcore net surfing n usb exchanging.. i hv become frndly to trojans n spywares...

    so was planning to buy one....ya m running win xp sp3 proffesional...

    Enjoy~!
     
  6. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    I use Avast Home! on my P4 2.0 GHZ machine which has 768MB of RAM. Its is light enough.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    nah...i mean along wit being light enuf it shud be effective aswell....i mean much effective

    Enjoy~!
     
  8. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Look, avast is very effective, same as a whole truckload of antiviruses out there as long as you keep updating and it is the best for older comps as it is pretty light.
     
  9. saqib_khan

    saqib_khan I M A *STAR*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    +1 to Avast. Using it since a long time and very much satisfied.
     
  10. Disc_Junkie

    Disc_Junkie Call me D_J!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can use Avira Antivirus free edition. It is one of the best. BTW I am using Comodo Internet Security which has integrated antivirus and I am totally satisfied with it.
     
  11. ARJOT SINGH

    ARJOT SINGH New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go for avast home edition. It is a great antivirus and very light on resources.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    hmm...so looks like i shudnt be goin for a purchase nw is it...

    Enjoy~!
     
  13. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    See, for paid version I (and all others) would have recommended KIS2009, but its very resource hog. All ur 512MB would be sucked by it ( well its a bit exaggerated, but quite cripples a low end PC ).

    So, free AV is ur option...
    Avira+Komodo my solution for u
     
  14. thewisecrab

    thewisecrab AFK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    ^^
    NOD32 v2.7 + Comodo firewall works out to be a much lighter option :)
     
  15. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    aint the inbuilt windows firewall gud enuf....??? coz i neva bothered installing third party firewall apps till date....

    Enjoy~!
     
  16. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Windows firewall???!!! If it was good we would not have recommended a separate firewall
     
  17. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^Yeah, XP firewall is horrible. Vista firewall is better, but not great again.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    ok but how do u judge that...i mean any incident(s) that proved u this practically?

    Enjoy~!
     
  19. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    AFAIK, XP Firewall scans only inbound connections and Vista scans both inbound and outbound connections. However, third-party software is better as is the case with most Microsoft bundled apps.
     
  20. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    Agree with Techalomaniac. Morever 3rd part firewall allows you to have more control in the form of flexible rules & other advanced settings.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page