Want to remove few programs that run during start up

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aanand

Journeyman
In Win XP, we can “Run>msconfig� and remove the programs that start during system startup. Is it possible to do the same in Win2k?
I tried the same command and it doesn't work in win2k.
The same command works in win98 as well.
I want to remove a few items that run during start up and work in the background, as my computer has become too slow. Please help!

puja399

In the zone
Run 'Regedit.exe', and edit the appropriate entry in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run. Before that u shld backup ur registry.

OP
A

Aanand

Journeyman
I would also like to know whether the command msconfig is not available in win2k or my is OS corrupted? I am afraid to edit the registry as I am not an expert in computers.
Is there any other way as the above command?
To be frank, I don't even know how to backup the registry!! :(

sakumar79

Technomancer
msconfig.exe is not bundled by default in windows 2000. You can use the one in winxp and it should work without problem. You can download it from *www.perfectdrivers.com/howto/msconfig.html

Also, in windows 2000/xp, you will be bothered by a dialog on restart after running msconfig - u can try startup control panel (available at *www.mlin.net/StartupCPL.shtml), etc. as alternative...

Arun

Minimalistix

I'm back!
Use Registy Editor or any Startup Manager

Hello Aanand,

"Msconfig" lets you control your startup items by editing certain Registry Keys behind the scenes.

As you know Windows 2000 doesn't have "Msconfig", you can either
use a software to assist you or can choose to manually edit the Registry yourself.

Keep in mind that editing the Registry in a wrong place can render your computer unbootable.
So, if you feel more comfortable with using a software, you can go ahead and search online for it.

But, I'll say it's not very difficult to edit the registry yourself.