VIA mobo

Discussion in 'CPU / Motherboards' started by cooldip10, May 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cooldip10

    cooldip10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Hey guys,
    I came with this VIA mobo which supports socket468 processors.It costs around 2K. At the same i found a graphics card (128MB AGP) costing around 1.7K.I wantedto know whether the two mentioned things are good or ...
    plz reply for sure..
     
  2. phatratt

    phatratt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mysore
    socket 468?which one is that?AFAIK we have socket 478 which supports older willamette and 7northwood core p4 processors.

    As for the graphics card,please mention which one coz VIA mobo has stablity issues with gforce cards.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2006
  3. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which is socket 468 ?I think u mean to say socket 478.Which supports the older p4.


    The memory on a low end graphics card does not matter much.Mx 4000 has 128 MB of buffer while the 6600 also has a 128 MB of memory,this does not mean that MX 4000 that retails for around 1.5 K will be as good as 6600..
    Tell us which graphics card are u takin about....
     
  4. OP
    OP
    cooldip10

    cooldip10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I don't have much idea about graphics cards.. But i have heard that PCI-Express is the latest , future-proof and cheaper than AGP.. is that true??
     
  5. vandit

    vandit New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    If I had a webcam u could have seen me, before you
    i would not recommend the VIA mobo....majority of them face prob. when a graphics card is added...( unless u do the firmware update...) .. i m a past user of VIA and i know how much pain it gives in the @#$..:mad: regardin the graphics card...plz specify the manufacturer and the chipset it uses..
     
  6. Chirag

    Chirag bang bang!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Vadodara
    Yea. Don't go for VIA mobo. The guy frm whom i bought my old pc, his shop closed and I reinstalled XP. Now I installed all drivers frm my mobo cd. But still games were not running properly. I installed driver by downloading thru net and still not working. I stayed with that pc for 4 years. 2years it ran fine but after that re-intsllition the remaning 2 years were not good.So don't go for VIA.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    cooldip10

    cooldip10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    But i still didn't get idea of a graphics card..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page