VDSL Modem / Router for AirTel VFibre

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vidhubhushan, Apr 20, 2017.

  1. jasku

    jasku Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Even if that is true, I dont see that as an issue at all, once the link is up, it makes no difference. Honestly, infact I feel VDSL is faster than DSL in my experience.
     
  2. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,449
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    NCR
    VDSL is indeed faster than ADSL.I don't know about syncing times of VDSL but usually syncing at high speeds means if there is a problem in line quality,connection will also break/disrupted quickly & will take more time to come back after a re-sync.If line quality is good then there should not be any issues once sync is established.
     
  3. jasku

    jasku Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, my first hand experience corroborates your understanding.
     
  4. ico

    ico Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10,890
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Verify the technology your ISP is using. ADSL, VDSL or cable. Then buy a device accordingly.

    I'm talking about the very first sync after which the DSL light becomes stable. VDSL takes a bit of time.

    But yes, after the link is established I don't face disconnections. Very rarely if any.

    yes, you are right.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2017
    billubakra likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    vidhubhushan

    vidhubhushan Alakh Niranjan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The City of Nawabs & Kebabs
    UPDATE:
    Last month, they changed my ADSL connection to VDSL by supplying a Binatone DT920W. The plan is INR699 (30GB FUP). I am using a INR100 (20GB) topup as well. All Calls are free and they have added 500GB data for free. Speed is up to 16Mbps and I have downloaded a file of 8.4GB using IDM with speed up to 2MBPS.
     
  6. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,742
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Same is the case in my area. I got a Binatone modem too. The model number is different. How much did they charge for that modem? That 500gb data is for 6 months.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    vidhubhushan

    vidhubhushan Alakh Niranjan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The City of Nawabs & Kebabs
    they did not ask for any money then. next bill also did not had any such charge. waiting for this month to end, only then can confirm.
     
    billubakra likes this.
  8. vivek.virgo

    vivek.virgo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    They called me a dozen times for upgrading from current 8mbps to 16mbps by paying 500 Rs for fiber modem.
    Only for 3 months the limit of 45GB will be raised to 100GB. They don't agree to permanent revision of FUP limit.
    Also calls will be free, no need of topup for that.
     
  9. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,742
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Upgrade only if your friends are getting 16 mbps speed in your area. I hardly get around 10 mbps in my area. Also note that once you switch to Vfibre your current ADSL modem would be useless.
     
  10. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,449
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    NCR
    Then don't upgrade.If you are going to get a crappy vdsl modem without any permanent benefits in terms of FUP then why upgrade unless you really need 16mbps.
     
  11. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,742
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    A user cannot switch back to ADSL before 6 months.
     
  12. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,449
    Likes Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    NCR
    Then one more reason not to switch to VDSL unless one really needs the higher speeds.
     
    billubakra likes this.
  13. OP
    OP
    vidhubhushan

    vidhubhushan Alakh Niranjan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The City of Nawabs & Kebabs
    i am getting good speed mostly and when downloading any file using IDM, the speed goes up to 2MBps. yesterday evening I updated MIUI on my Redmi 4A (1.4GB download) using WiFi. when it started, it was under 100Kbps and even before i realized it shifted gears and by the time i came back after dinner and checked i found out that some 1.3GB has been downloaded and the speed is some 2.08MBps.
     
    billubakra likes this.
  14. billubakra

    billubakra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,742
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    In my area no one is getting more than 10mbps. All SHITtel say is that the speed will fluctuate no matter what.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    vidhubhushan

    vidhubhushan Alakh Niranjan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The City of Nawabs & Kebabs
    Speed fluctuates on different sites and work like normal downloads, dm downloads and torrents still I have seen speed up to 16mbps. Maybe it's good in my area
     
    billubakra likes this.

Share This Page