VB.NET Online Software...HELP

bhutanesedude

The Thunderer
Hello Geeks,

I am a newbie in this software programming as you would know already. So far, during my college days, I just developed STAND-ALONE Softwares, having the Backend Database in the same system where the Front-End is installed.

Today, I would like to try something different. Is there any possibilities to develop an Application using VB.NET keeping the back-end SQL DB at the Local Networked Server and Front End in client terminals? If so, can someone let me know how to connect the front end and back end? Please do help me.

The server I have in my network is Windows 2003 and client system is of Windows 7.

Thank you.

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
You can simply follow the procedure you learnt. The Database should accept remote connections that's all. You don't need to change the Front End Code at all.

Say if you are using SQL Server, it accepts remote connections by default. But in case of Express version you need to configure it in such way.

You can check *www.google.co.in/search?q=Configur...s=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a to configure SQL Server Express to accept remote connections.

In your front end code, SQLConnection object just pass the connection string of that SQL Server Installation.

I believe you used to do one of these...

Data Source=YOUR_PC_NAME;Initial Catalog=DATABASE_NAME;User ID=USERNAME;Password=PASSWORD

Data Source=YOUR_PC_NAME;Initial Catalog=DATABASE_NAME;Integrated Security=SSPI;

Server=YOUR_PC_NAME;Database=DATABASE_NAME;Trusted_Connection=True;

You just need to replace the following with...

Data Source=REMOTE_PC_NAME/IP;Initial Catalog=DATABASE_NAME;User ID=USERNAME;Password=PASSWORD

So see it's as easy as that. Just you need to modify the code to pass remote connection string.