Using a Switch to Network to Linux PCs

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by Liverpool_fan, Jul 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Liverpool_fan

    Liverpool_fan Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Нью-Дели
    I just purchased a Switch, which is connected to a Router, Desktop and Laptop. Internet works fine on both, however I was wondering how to facilitate data transfer b/w two PCs. Desktop has Ubuntu, Laptop has Mandriva. (A distro neutral approach would be appreciated since I also use Arch in the desktop)

    Previously I had tried networking with a crossover cable but failed :(. So I am n00b in networking, kindly help.

    Also guide in event of a Linux-Windows networking system. I also have Win7 on the desktop.
     
  2. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    For data transfer b/w two check ur Router config whether they r on same LAN(it shud be by default).

    Connecting lappy and desktop wid a crossover cable doesn't mean u can transfer data b/w these untill n unless u configure the Workgroup/Domain (Rite click my computer>computer name)

    For ths type of networking system u'll need to config samba on linux.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Liverpool_fan

    Liverpool_fan Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Нью-Дели
    Elaborate? You mean I should Check my WAN Router settings?


    I had tried. It didn't work. I tried a lot. :|
    I had set static IP, same subnet, and the gateway settings, still didn't work out.
    I think the cable was defective. :|

    I know. But I want a howto.
     
  4. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    No check LAN settings. Well it varies frm router to router. It'll b better if u can post the detailed image of ur router's pages. Othrwse google it out.

    Well may be.

    Tats a long process dude at least to mention here and also the procedure varies b/w each version of linux. Google it out for ur distro. Well if u can't i knw the process for RHEL9. I can provide tat. But u'll need to do the further RnD to find the same for ur version/distro. Just try in google. U'll find it.
     
  5. iinfi

    iinfi mekalodu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Navi Mumbai
    if your internet works on both your pc and laptop there sud not be any problem in pinging from one machine to the other...
    ur using linux on both the systems right?
    you can esily transfer files using scp

    on machine 1:
    scp file.txt root@192.168.5.13:/root

    type yes if it asks you to accept the public key of the second machine.
    type the pasword of machine 2.
    and thats it.
    well if you are not comfortable in configuring samba you can always use winscp which is a windows utility to transfer files between windows and linux.

    or you can share any folder on the windows system and give it full access by going to the sharing and security settings.

    on the linux system
    mount.cifs //192.168.5.1/music /mnt/remotemachine/ -o user=administrator,pass=

    assuming you have given full access to the folder on windows machine.
    i think you will still have issues. dont hesitate to post back.
     
  6. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    ^^^^^thnx yaar........didn't knew about winscp.....!!
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Liverpool_fan

    Liverpool_fan Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Нью-Дели
    I set up NFS network and managed that the Laptop is able to access Desktop's folder. However I have a problem. While the notebook can ping on to the IP address of Desktop, the desktop can't ping to the IP address of the notebook. Pretty strange? Do I have to have to open a port or what in Mandriva Notebook?

    EDIT: Ah! It was a Firewall issue. Sorted it out. :razz:
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page