1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

unique problem in Win98

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by harshagarwal, Oct 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. harshagarwal

    harshagarwal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wanted a play dos mode game so I in Windows directory I clicked on the icon stating XMS support for MS-DOS Games.

    Now When I start my Pc it always starts in Dos mode and even if I type EXIT it again starts in Dos mode.

    I installed Win98 again but the problem remains as it is.

    please help
     
  2. jnpandya

    jnpandya New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gujarat
    Edit the file msdos.sys in the root directory (it's hidden) and change the BootTOGUI = 0 option as BootTOGUI = 1.

    I don't remember the exact word 'cause i don't use win98 now, but there are very few lines in the file so you can easily find and edit. You will have to change the attributes of the files for editing it.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    harshagarwal

    harshagarwal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i cannot get the GUI how do I edit the file and change its attributes in the dos mode
     
  4. BlAsTeR

    BlAsTeR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can boot to windows by typing win at the dos prompt.

    For permant solution , In dos mode , on C:

    Type attrib -r -h -s msdos.sys

    When attributes are set

    type edit msdos.sys

    My msdos.sys looks somthing like this
    change bootGUI = 1
     
  5. jnpandya

    jnpandya New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gujarat
    I think BlAsTeR has very clearly answered your question.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    harshagarwal

    harshagarwal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did by booting my system in safe mode.
    checked the msdos.sys file was alright but something scrap was there in config.sys and autoexec file so i cleaned it up and now my Pc runs fine.
    thanks for telling me the use of msdos.sys file.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page