Ubuntu 11.04 & Canon Pixma MP258 Problem

aanderful

Right off the assembly line
I'm new to Linux and that I've installed Ubuntu 11.04 on my desktop PC. I was curious about using Linux and wanted to give it a try. The more I use it, the more I like it. It's very good and contrary to the belief among some people it is very much user friendly.

But I'm having one problem with the printer driver. I own a Canon Pixma MP258 inkjet printer/scanner and tried to install the driver for the device from the options given when I connected the printer for the first time to the computer. And mistakenly I chose the MP220 from the menu that shows up since my printer was not listed in the menu. I thought that it was the closest to MP258.

Now, when I try to print a document page, nothing happens. Later I tried installing the proper driver from the canon website but the default printer is taken as MP220 only. Nowhere does the option of choosing the MP258 comes.
Could you please help me with the problem? Can I make Canon Pixma MP258 the default printer?
----