two queries

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by amitgg, Mar 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amitgg

    amitgg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    suppose my computer name is "Amit-Knl" and i run http service on it. Then i know that my computer can be accessed through internet using

    hItp://amit-knl.com

    1) so what is www used for.

    2) and will it be also accessed through hItp://amit-knl.com if it is behind a proxy server.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    amitgg

    amitgg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please consider
     
  3. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    amit for ur 1 ques the answer is that is u dont type www or type www the www is the part of the url afaik but i really dont now ur second ques
     
  4. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    As far as the internet is concerned, the computer name is irrelevant. In order to access your website with http://amit-knl.com address (note that you appear to have misspelled http as hitp), you need to register the address with a DNS registring service (for which you will have to pay a monthly or annual fee). Then, you will have to make sure you have a static IP from your internet service provider (such as BSNL or Airtel). [Well, you can do it without static IP but the workaround is a bit elaborate].

    Now, to the main part of your questions... The www is prob. not required, but that is because it is taken as default. For example, www.yahoo.com and yahoo.com will both direct you to the same site but mail.yahoo.com will direct you to a different site. This is because the address (DNS name) is read from back to front... The com is first figured and then yahoo is figured. If www is not provided, it will be assumed... But if something else is provided (such as mail in the above example), a different page from the same server is returned...

    Regarding the second query, I think there shouldnt be a problem unless the proxy mechanism has been instructed to either block your site specifically or in general - but I am not very sure about this...

    Arun
     
  5. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    It doesnt work like that...WWW is sub domain of the domain yahoo.com

    When we add the domain in apache, we also create ServerAlias with name www.yahoo.com in the httpd.conf file..so this way both www.yahoo.com and yahoo.com will be same...this doesnt work on any assumption....

    so if I set www as something different then people will see different content on yahoo.com and www.yahoo.com

    Regards,
    Deep
     
  6. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    I agree that www is a subdomain of the main site, but for most websites, is it not the default subdomain? As far as I have seen, most sites have the www subdomain and the main domain as the same...

    So, will I be correct in saying that while adding www wont make a difference in most cases, it will in some cases and therefore, should be used as a good habit?

    Arun
     
  7. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Yup 99.9999999999% of the sites are same on www and main domain but while creating the site you have to mention that in httpd conf and if he is not aware about it then www wont work for him :)

    Regards,
    Deep
     
  8. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Thanks for clarifying that... It has been a while since I worked with these things, so I guess I am a bit rusty on all of these...

    Arun
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page