Tips n Tricks for Linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

khandu

In the zone
Hi All..

I just hope the MODS make it a sticky and every1 adds tips n tricks in this post..

Many will be already knowin these but i m startin this just for the TOTAL NEWBIES!!!

1) HOW TO INSTALL RHN directly from ISO ( JAN 2005 DVD )

• Copy all the ISO in a folder.. ( CANNOT BE A NTFS file system.. Should be a FAT32 System )
    Use a RW and burn the rescued CD ISO into it
    For Floppy ppl, you will have to make a bootable floopy
    Boot from it and then type " linux askmethod"
    Then choose "From Hard Disk" and then give the path..
    Rest is same

More will be coming soon... 8)

klinux

Ambassador of Buzz
weird , sounds so familiar : *www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14097 ;) . anyways good thread .

GNUrag

FooBar Guy
This could be a good start. I would recommend the level of complexity to a bit lower.

One can also go to the LOST project's homepage and have a lots of LOSTs from there. Its also available in fortune format.
*lost.sourceforge.net

I'd try to post something from freebsd fortune cookies..

TIP:
If you `set watch = (0 any any)' in tcsh, you will be notified when
someone logs in or out of your system.

OP
K

khandu

In the zone
2) HOW TO RESET UR ROOT PASSWORD IF U FORGET IT

Code:
While Booting ( Redhat )   just press "e" in GRUB 
u will find 3 lines of code.. 
Goto to the 2nd line press "e"again and type "1" in the end
 then press ENTER.. 
Then press "b" and it will boot you into your shell.. 
Just type "passwd" and change ur ROOT password... 
dont need to know the old one..

Cool na.. :p

tuxfan

Technomancer
Source: LinuxForYou, June 2004