Some Silly Questions

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by krishnandu.sarkar, Oct 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    1. Intel Pentium D @ 3.0Ghz
    a. Is this the clock speed for each core?? Or its the summation of speed for both the cores??

    b. If yes does this theory apply for C2D, Quad Core and other range of AMD and Intel Processors??


    2. Is thr any DMA mode for SATA DVD Drive?? If yes how to enable it?? Does SATA DVD Drives r treated as IDE Drive??


    3. +12v1 : 15A
    +12v2 : 16A

    Does this mean I hav 31A in +12v channel?? And I can use high end graphics card?? Or the process of calculation of this type of two +12v rails r different??
     
  2. amitash

    amitash Intel OCer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    for 1.a and b, answer is yes, really unsure about 2 and 3
     
  3. OP
    OP
    krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    wow..!! sum1 replied atleast..!! Thnx Amitash...
     
  4. OP
    OP
    krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hey ny more reply???? sum1 plz reply......
     
  5. vaibhav_jain

    vaibhav_jain GOD

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    answer for third question?

    yes you are right it is 31A for 12V channel but you can`t use it for high end card. i think you can use these 12v rails with two low end cards in sli or crossfire combination, also remember use cards which requires less power from the 12V channels according to their capacity(i.e. 12V).
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    answer for third question?

    yes you are right it is 31A for 12V channel but you can`t use it for high end card. i think you can use these 12v rails with two low end cards in sli or crossfire combination, also remember use cards which requires less power from the 12V channels according to their capacity(i.e. 12V).
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2009
  6. vaibhav_jain

    vaibhav_jain GOD

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    question 1. a. answer!!

    in my view it is the sum of speed of all the cores, not for the individual core(i.e. 2.5GHz quad core means having the total speed of 2.5Ghz of all the 4 cores, but the main point here is that this processor has 4 cores which can work individually at the same time, and in past processors there is only single core like P4 3.0GHz, it has only single core to operate therefore quadcore with 2.5Ghz of speed is much more powerfull than P4 with 3.0GHz of speed).
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    question 1. a. answer!!
    :!:
    in my view it is the sum of speed of all the cores, not for the individual core(i.e. 2.5GHz quad core means having the total speed of 2.5Ghz of all the 4 cores, but the main point here is that this processor has 4 cores which can work individually at the same time, and in past processors there is only single core like P4 3.0GHz, it has only single core to operate therefore quadcore with 2.5Ghz of speed is much more powerfull than P4 with 3.0GHz of speed).
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2009
  7. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    But the performance gains of multi-core CPU's will not translate exactly to 2xSingle core in case of a dual core mainly because apps not being coded for multicore optimisation. All the same, each core has a clock speed of 3.0GHz yes!
     
  8. OP
    OP
    krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Okz thnx..........

    And wat about SATA DVD Writer?? Does SATA DVD Writer's hav DMA??
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2009
  9. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    These are actually very good questions, definitely not silly!

    This is the fastest speed at which each stage in the processor pipeline runs. So in layman's term, this is the speed at which each core runs.

    Yes

    There is a DMA engine built into the controller. So you don't haf explicit control over the DMA setting for a SATA drive. No wonder it is so fast!
    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c00301688/c00301688.pdf

    No, you cannot add the currents from 12v rails if both are not connected to the same sink. In fact, only the high end power supplies are dual rails. Most low-end and mid-range PSUs just split the 12v line to limit the current per line.

    Theoretically, the maximum current you can get per line is (Power * efficiency)/Voltage. So lets say you have a 600W PSU, assuming a hypothetical efficiency of 60%, the maximum current on the 12v line is: 600 * 0.60 / 12 = 30A. This is assuming there is no drop in the other 5/3.3v lines.

    But this is the peak current and NOT the sustained current in normal operating temperatures. The numbers that you indicate 15/16A are usually the guaranteed currents each line can supply under normal operating conditions.

    http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?PHPSESSID=63ae1cc622fe6623ca275ec757c02c4c&topic=77071.0
    http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-arena/82101-how-calculate-actual-max-load-current-12v-rails.html
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-radeon-power,2122-6.html
     
  10. OP
    OP
    krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hey WOW......!! Tats gr8.....!! Very simple describing....!!

    Thnx yaar....!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page