Not open for further replies.

Renny

Padawan
Hi guys,

I'm a newbie in linux,

I have an Airtel BB connection,
The modem I use is a USB type modem(Beetel 220BX ADSL2+MODEM),
I'm sorry if this topic is already covered, but I need help quick,

Is Slackware 12 a good choice or should I go for some other distribution?

And does this linux have softwares availbale for Suse,

Is this a good linux version?

Last edited:

NucleusKore

TheSaint
You are talking about two distros so different from each other. Better make up your mind. If you have at least 1 GB RAM go for Open SuSE 10.3. Else try Slackware.

OP
Renny

Renny

Padawan
In what way r they different from each other?

btw my system is ancient:- P3, intel 810 chipset, 256MB RAM, 20gb hdd,

And plz help me with the BB query.

NucleusKore

TheSaint
Then stick with Slackware. I do not have much experience with it beyond NimbleX. Better you ask someone with more Slackware experience.

ray|raven

Think Zen.
Try Zenwalk instead, Its based on Slackware and is more suited for newbies than Slackware is IMO.
You can try Slackware after u get some experience with Linux.
And for older machines Slackware based distro's rock.
I am running zenwalk on a similar system ,
P4 2.4Ghz 256Mb Ram and 80gb Hdd.
It boots in less than 20 seconds.

Visit their site: www.zenwalk.org

Regards,
ray

NucleusKore

TheSaint
@rayraven...I went to the site^^ and would liek to try it out. I have a question. Can we install to the hard disk if we chose to from a Live CD, like Ubuntu or SuSE?

OP
Renny

Renny

Padawan
Plz tell me how to setup the broadband, I've already installed Slackware 12 and got a bit familier with it.

QwertyManiac

Commander in Chief
I don't think you'd be able to configure that modem in its USB mode. Its auto-detected and configured if it were LAN mode.

ray|raven

Think Zen.
@Nucleus Kore,
The Zenwalk live cd is live only, i.e No install.
You can install from the standard edition.