Seeking professional opinion - Canon EOS 600D or Nikon D5100 for a beginner

siddharthx64

A Droid in a Tux
Forgive me if this has already happened, but I couldn't find an answer to this dilemma in the previous posts by others. Im a beginner at photography with DSLRs. I am not planning on being an enthusiast for a month and then forgetting all about it. I plan to make the purchase immediately.

What's your budget?
32K (+/- 2K)

Camera type?
DSLR

How much zoom do you want/expect?
18-55mm

Do you care for manual exposure controls?
Yes

What will you be shooting with this camera?
Nature (mostly), Social, and wildlife (rarely)

Will you be shooting mostly indoors/low light and/or action/sports?
not really planning on low light shooting

Video?
Yes

Do you have any particular model(s) in your mind?
Canon 600D & Nikon D5100

Any brand preference? Like/dislike
would like to go for one of the cameras mentioned above

From where will you be buying?
Online/store (whichever has a better offer

My Dilemma:
I have seen the d5100 being praised over the Canon 600D on many occasions. But I have seen that the canon model comes with an Autofocus motor. How important is this for me as a beginner?

I have heard that the quality of pictures is better in the d5100 than the 600D. How much of an improvement are we talking about?

I have gone to the store, and have tried out both the cams, I did not find any issues with the size (both fit well in my average sized hands)

Finally, from a beginner's perspective, which model would suit me best? (I am inclined towards the 600D)
I would like it to be future proof (plan to buy lenses for higher zooms later

Any help is greatly appreciated. Kindly do not use photographic jargon, as I have no idea what they mean. I am going through Digit's photography guide fast track that came a couple of years back, but I'm still a long way from being a professional.

Last edited:

sujoyp

Grand Master