1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

processor help needed...urgent

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by madman123, Jan 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. madman123

    madman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    yo people,
    i've been doing some research and need some feedback on processors.
    So the ones i've been looking at are:
    Intel D 930 3.0Ghz dualcore
    Intel D 830 3.0Ghz dualcore

    are these any good...what's better and what price should i be expecting
    any ideas...jus write it in

    thanx in advance
     
  2. hotdogXP

    hotdogXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    coimbatore
    When I was doing research on what processor to get , I decided to go for AMD's Dual Core over Intel Pentium's D series. Here is why :

    1)AMD X2 Processors are far better in performance.
    2)But Intel's D processors are slightly cheaper than AMD's X2 processors but the motherboards for the Intel D's are way costly compared to AMD's X2 supported mobos. Check out the Nov2005 edition of Digit.

    The cheapest AMD Dual Core Processor i.e the 3800+ X2 64 retails for 19K or so in India.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    madman123

    madman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    so a mobo equivalant to the 955x from intel along with the 3800+x2 64 would cost a grand total of how much...cuz i can't strech beyond 25k...even thats stretching it a bit...
     
  4. hotdogXP

    hotdogXP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    coimbatore
    get the AMD X2 64 3800+ processor and the Asus A8N-E Motherboard which costs 5.5K which together is less than 25K.
     
  5. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I'd have suggested exactly as he did....
    this is the best combination for 65k that u can get...

    ( let me tell u that u'll need graphics card after this.... which u most probably alread know... just reminding in case..)
     
  6. OP
    OP
    madman123

    madman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    the mobo doesn't come with any onboard graphics at all??
    and how good is the mobo really...
     
  7. OP
    OP
    madman123

    madman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ok...so if i could stretch the budget a bit...what would be a really good mobo...i don't need sli though
     
  8. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    this is a really good mobo.......

    but u will need graphics ard....
     
  9. OP
    OP
    madman123

    madman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    would the 6600gt work well with this setup...along with 1gb ddr2 533mhz
     
  10. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ASUS a8ne doesnot support DDR2
    and the 6600gt gives u best value for money though
     
  11. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    AMD procys have integrated memory controllers in the processor, and DDR2 is not supported....
    Besides, a 533Mhz DDR2 is the same performance as 400Mhz DDR.

    6600GT is great card, i have it noe... and I really liking it...
     
  12. OP
    OP
    madman123

    madman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    what mobo will allow me to use ddr2
     
  13. mangemayur

    mangemayur New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    AMD still doesnt support DDR2.. in intel any motherboard above 915 will support DDR2
     
  14. OP
    OP
    madman123

    madman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    so then..does it still make sense to go for amd...i mean it doesn't seem to have such a bright future..
    or does performance still come out to be better then the intel equivalant
     
  15. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    boy, we have done finding job beafore going for AMD, all of us here are not throwing away out thousands of rupee just like that in AMD, there is a reason....


    AMD is still better, I heard they did not introduce DDR 2 because they are diectly planning to move to DDR 3 when the time is ripe
     
  16. mangemayur

    mangemayur New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    Kniwor.. i m not sure abt AMD with DDR3 but they are coming with DDR2 by mid 2006.. more info is available on tomshardware
     
  17. OP
    OP
    madman123

    madman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    thanx guys...i think i might go for that amd after-all
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page