Pc Freezes For A Brief Period & Monitor Blinks

scavanger007

On KillingSpree!!!
The PC starts normally without any problem.
The problem is that it freezes for 1-6 seconds
and while in freezed state for that brief moment
the monitor turns on and off (most of the time
after turning off- it turns on immediately, but
sometimes it stays off for few seconds and
then turns on) and as soon as the monitor
turns on the pc resumes from where it hanged.
This happens randomly but frequently. Like
sometimes when i click on 'start' it happens
but sometimes it doesn't i.e. it doesn't happen
after a specific set of actions. I checked device
manager but no problems were displayed in it.
I also reconnected the internal parts of pc to
check the possibility of loose connections. I
scanned my PC with Microsoft Security
Essentials as well. Also formatted the PC but
problem still persists post-formatting. As of
now only Nero, Alcohol 120%, KLC codec
pack, Firefox and Chrome are installed.
Thought it appears that the problem is not
related to softwares installed because after
formatting and prior to any software installation
the problem still occurred. Kindly guide me in
this matter.

Are these signs of any hardware failing?

Btw I just thought of
checking BIOS and found three things.
First of all my bios is "Award".
I just checked the 'PC Health Status' and found few defects
there.
Under the 'Case Open' section the following was shown:
Vcore Fail
DDR18V Fail
+12V Fail
Can u relate any of these to my problem?
And if this one is altogether different please help with it as
well.

Who stole my Alpaca!
Whenever I have had random problems like these it usually ends up to be either the power supply or memory modules. I would start from there. if you have another SMPS lying around you could try it for yourself :D .

beelzebub360

♪☺☺♪
Looks Like ur Ram Might hv gone "Kaput"
If u hv two Ram sticks try testing one by one..
else Check ur power supply & Cables if they r ok..
Try & inform , surely vil try 2 help u..
:neutral:

scavanger007

On KillingSpree!!!
hmm i dont have extra ram stick right now, should i try to move it to another slot and check until I arrange for one?
Btw if it was PSU problem, rather than hanging i guess it should have given problems like restarting. (Not sure but my bro's PSU gave such problem before it failed.)
And btw r there no chances of the problem to be connected with my BIOS details I posted?

piyush2202

The Tech Enthusiast
there isn't any fixed problem for PSU failure. Considering what your BIOS reports it looks like you have problem with power. Check if the power cable on your motherboard is secure. You might even have a blown PSU. Get it checked. Did you also try tightening the screws of the D-sub/DVI cable on your PC back panel?? probably should check that first.

scavanger007

On KillingSpree!!!
Checked each individual part of my pc with my friend's pc which is almost identical to mine and any possible connection of problem with rest of the parts is nullified.
And the culprits of the problem...
freezing and blinking is due to Graphics Card and
those bios issues are motherboard related....

I m wondering whether i should use this opportunity to upgrade my graphics card (its too old and ultra low end... Nvidia 6200LE)
can u guys suggest graphics card for 10k budget...

Now coming to bios issue... can anyone help me guess how to overcome it?
Should i try flashing BIOS to latest version?

scavanger007

On KillingSpree!!!
Gigabyte GA-8I945 GZME Motherboard link [btw if you see the link names the mother board as 8I945 GZME-RH and mine is 8I945 GZME, though the specifications and image match exactly with my mb, i wonder why)

Intel P4 3.06 GHz processor

Transcend 512mb DDR2 667 Ram (will be upgrading to 2 gb within two months)

PSU is simple one from Zebronics 400W

LG 17" 700E CRT monitor (will be shifting to LCD soon)

Seagate 160GB HDD

Nvidia 256mb 6200LE Graphics Card from Zebronics

Seems like your PSU or GPU is causing issues. To rule out RAM issues, rum memtest and Linx please.

scavanger007

On KillingSpree!!!
^^ as i said earlier... i have found out which parts are giving problem....

what i m looking for is suitable graphics card within 10k for this config....

and if possible to solve the BIOS issue w/o going to service center... i want to keep the service center option as a last resort