PC for home use and educational purpose under 25k.

mcechelonista

Right off the assembly line
1. What is the purpose of the computer? What all applications and games are you going to run? (Stupid answers like 'gaming' or 'office work' will not work. Be exact. Which games? Which applications? Avoid the word 'et cetera.')
Ans: I'd like to use it for coding/database programs since I am a computer science student. So expect me to use Netbeans, Matlab, Oracle and likewise for academic purpose. Also, it will be used for watching movies, browsing the internet and basic stuff like that. Zero gaming.

2. What is your overall budget? If you can extend a bit for a more balanced configuration, then mention this too.
Ans: Within 25k.

3. Planning to overclock?
Ans: No.

4. Which Operating System are you planning to use?
Ans: Windows 7 64 bit and higher/Linux.

5. How much hard drive space is needed?
Ans: 1 TB. I download a lot so high storage is a necessity.

6. Do you want to buy a monitor? If yes, please mention which screen size and resolution do you want. If you already have a monitor and want to reuse it, again mention the size and resolution of monitor you have.
Ans: 18.5". (Need suggestions here)

7. Which components you DON'T want to buy or which components you already have and plan on reusing?
Ans: I have an old Seagate 80 GB IDE HDD that I don't want to part with. Is there any way I can use it with my new config? Also don't need mouse, keyboard, speakers.

8. When are you planning to buy the system?
Ans: ASAP

9. Have you ever built a desktop before or will this be done by an assembler?
Ans: I never built one before. Just made small upgradations before. So I'd get it done by an assembler this time too.

10. Where do you live? Are you buying locally? Are you open to buying stuff from online shops if you don't get locally?
Ans: Kolkata. I am open to buy from online as well as local shops here at Chandni Chowk. (Any particular shop I might visit?)