New BSNL questions. Very noobish questions

AVT

Clueless Noob
Is this even the right section to post or should i post it in the Broadband and DTH section ?

Only had a reliance netconnect till now. 1st time on wired connection.
Just bought the BSNL connection application. I live in the village, so technical questions to BSNL staff are met with indifferent stare.

I want to know
1. What moden to buy from BSNL ?
I have an wi-fi ipad, so is it possible if i buy their wi-fi modem, my dad can browse the net in his room and i can surf the net in my room on my ipad upstairs ?

2. I have heard a lot about dissconnection problems in BSNL. Does it mean I will have to reconnection manually each time or it reconnects automatically.
(I saw something about ASDL connection on BSNL website but dunno what that means)

3. An online complete noob's guide to learn about networking and terms associated with it ? I was looking at flipkarts Network components page and realized i have absolutely no idea what do Network Interface Cards, Routers, Access Points and other terms mean.

Won't be be good if you guys have a sticky for absolute begainners like you have for graphics cards or motherboards in this forum itself. or am I missing something ?

Sorry for the dumb questions, really.

techiemaharaj

--> Techie - Maharaj
1. Yes you can go for their Wifi Modem. It will satisfy ur needs.

2. It will reconnect automatically, u dont need to do anything. BTW its ADSL - which simply means that ur upload speed and download bandwidth are different.

3. For networking guide, I guess this one is decent and will help you.

OP
AVT

AVT

Clueless Noob
Thanks for clearing that up. I'll poke around the link you gave. Thanks.

^I would say don't buy the modem from BSNL.They give just 3 months warranty

I thought since I m extremely clueless, I would get the BSNL guy to do the installation and since he has experience in dealing with those models he could troubleshoot them easily in future.