NEED TO KNOW HOW TO INSTALL FC3

Status
Not open for further replies.

mayneu

Journeyman
HI GUYS,
I am very much new to the linux, but a computer savvy
i am a doctor by profession..............
i need guidance from anyone regarding installation of FC3........
right from the initial screen till the completion.........
main prroblem is regardding the partittion........
i also wanna know how much of minimum swap partition should i keep..... aand how much of minimum hard disk is required?
why swap partition is required? in brrief answer would be benefecial...
i need a complete understandable answer....
so guys....any patient genius to help me out of my problem?
and make me use the linux as a professional pls............
waiting for good response from any one? :oops: :(

tuxfan

Technomancer
SINCE YOU ARE NOT EXPERIENCED IN LINUX INSTALLATION, TAKE BACKUP OF ALL YOUR DATA BEFORE TRYING FOR ANY PARTITIONING/REPARTITIONING

There are plenty of articles online on this topic. Take a search. You will find something far better than what anyone can explain here. Alternatively, buy a book on FC3. Almost all books give you installation procedure. Still better, wait for March. PCQuest is coming out with PCQ Linux 2005 (based on FC3). That will be a customised version of FC3. Their customisation is good for desktop users. Their magazine issue will also cover lots of tips.

But in short, you need free unpartitioned space on your hard disk to be able to install FC3. Do you have that? If not, then either you will to delete some partition or resize and existing one after defrag. There are partitioning softwares (like fdisk, partition magic, fips, etc.) and available for this purpose.

After you are sure you have enough space (about 6 GB), boot from the 1st CD (or DVD). Go for graphical install. Follow the step by step instructions. Keep your eye open and keep clicking on next after selecting the right options.